Reported Reactions

Devices › Needle, hypodermic, single lumen

Device brand name · Hypodermic single lumen needle

Bd Eclipse Needle: medical device reports filed with FDA

297 reports name it, 2015–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Becton Dickinson Medical Singapore. Product code FMI.

297
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 27 a year
1
reports, 12 months to August 2026
2 in the 12 months before
88.6%
classified as malfunction
87.6% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 297 reports that name the brand "Bd Eclipse Needle" (hypodermic single lumen needle), received between August 2015 and November 2025; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Becton Dickinson Medical Singapore. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

1 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 50% from 2 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (88.6%) and injury (11.4%); across all needle, hypodermic, single lumen reports (product code FMI) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 87.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material protrusion/extrusion (14.5%), leak/splash (13.1%) and break (11.4%). The patient problems coded most often are needle stick/puncture, exposure to body fluids and no patient involvement. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0510Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 82022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 102023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 10Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 9Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

029572015: 520152017: 1820172018: 3720182019: 5720192020: 2920202021: 5120212022: 4220222023: 5120232024: 420242025: 32025

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury11.4%34
Malfunction88.6%263
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report95.6%284
Voluntary report3.4%10
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given1%3

Grey bar: all 39,876 reports carrying product code FMI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material protrusion/extrusion4314.5%1.3%
Leak/splashthe device leaked3913.1%8.5%
Breakthe device broke3411.4%12.7%
Complete blockage3411.4%8.5%
Device contamination with chemical or other material3110.4%5.4%
Defective component124%1.6%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label124%2.2%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off103.4%2.7%
Detachment of device component82.7%3%
Fail-safe problem62%0.7%
Material separation62%1.2%
Delivered as unsterile product51.7%0.7%
Packaging problem51.7%1.2%
Component falling41.3%0.3%
Contamination41.3%1%
Defective devicethe device was defective41.3%2.9%
Bent31%0.7%
Contamination /decontamination problem20.7%0.7%
Disconnection20.7%0.3%
Fail-safe design failure20.7%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Needle stick/puncture3411.4%
Exposure to body fluids72.4%
No patient involvement62%
Painpain, site not specified20.7%
Abscessa collection of pus10.3%
Erythemaskin redness10.3%
Extravasation10.3%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient10.3%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue10.3%
Muscle weakness/atrophy10.3%
Neuropathy10.3%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.3%
Swelling/ edema10.3%
Syncope/fainting10.3%
Vomitingbeing sick10.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureBd Eclipse NeedleProduct code FMIAll MAUDE reports
Reports29739,87626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.7%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury11.4%10.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction88.6%87.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer95.6%92.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FMI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unspecified Bd Pen Needle1,82000.1%
BD Vacutainer Eclipse Blood Collection Needle2,1166270%
Bd Safetyglide Needle1,25830%
Bd Precisionglide Needle1,22900%
Bd Nano 2nd Gen Pen Needle78800%
Bd Ultra Fine Pen Needles65600%
Pen Ndl 32g 4mm Pro 100 Box 1200 Us51090%
BD SafetyGlide5761270%
Ez-Io Power Driver46302.2%
BD Vacutainer Eclipse Blood Collection Needle with Pre-Attached Holder423180%
Bd Ultra Fine Pen Needle37500%
Bd Safetyglide Needle Only 25 G32800%
Unspecified Bd Needle32700%
Bd Ultra-Fine Pen Needle32000%
Magellan330200%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Bd Eclipse Needle reports

How many FDA reports name Bd Eclipse Needle?

297 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 1 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (88.6%) and injury (11.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material protrusion/extrusion (14.5%), leak/splash (13.1%), break (11.4%), complete blockage (11.4%) and device contamination with chemical or other material (10.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (95.6%) and voluntary reports (3.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Bd Eclipse Needle was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.