Reported Reactions

Devices › Needle, hypodermic, single lumen

Device brand name · Needle hypodermic single lu

Ez-Io Power Driver: medical device reports filed with FDA

463 reports name it, 2014–2023. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Teleflex Medical. Product code FMI.

463
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 40 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
96.3%
classified as malfunction
87.6% across the product code
2.2%
classified as death, as reported
10 reports · not verified by FDA

463 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Ez-Io Power Driver" (needle hypodermic single lu); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Teleflex Medical; received from November 2014 to November 2023. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (96.3%), death (2.2%) and injury (1.5%); across all needle, hypodermic, single lumen reports (product code FMI) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 87.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are power problem (70.4%), complete loss of power (9.5%) and device stops intermittently (8.4%). The patient problems coded most often are death, no patient involvement and skin tears. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

036Sep 2021: 4Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 4Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

038762014: 1920142015: 5320152016: 4120162017: 7320172018: 7620182019: 5520192020: 5220202021: 5220212022: 2620222023: 162023

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.2%10
Injury1.5%7
Malfunction96.3%446
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%463
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 39,876 reports carrying product code FMI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Power problem32670.4%0.8%
Complete loss of power449.5%0.1%
Device stops intermittentlythe device stopped now and then398.4%0.1%
Battery problema problem with the battery122.6%0%
Loss of powerthe device lost power71.5%0%
Intermittent loss of power61.3%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly51.1%0.8%
Overheating of device30.6%0%
Breakthe device broke20.4%12.7%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert20.4%0.4%
Failure to advance20.4%0%
Mechanical jam20.4%0.2%
Activation, positioning or separation problem10.2%0.1%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.2%2.7%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used10.2%0%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove10.2%1.2%
Failure to power up10.2%0.1%
Failure to sense10.2%0%
Fire10.2%0%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method10.2%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term132.8%
No patient involvement30.6%
Skin tears30.6%
Air embolism10.2%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped10.2%
Cellulitisa skin infection10.2%
Dehydrationdehydration10.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue10.2%
Inflammationinflammation10.2%
Injurya physical injury10.2%
Painpain, site not specified10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEz-Io Power DriverProduct code FMIAll MAUDE reports
Reports46339,87626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports2229
Classified as injury1.5%10.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction96.3%87.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%92.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FMI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unspecified Bd Pen Needle1,82000.1%
BD Vacutainer Eclipse Blood Collection Needle2,1166270%
Bd Safetyglide Needle1,25830%
Bd Precisionglide Needle1,22900%
Bd Nano 2nd Gen Pen Needle78800%
Bd Ultra Fine Pen Needles65600%
Pen Ndl 32g 4mm Pro 100 Box 1200 Us51090%
BD SafetyGlide5761270%
BD Vacutainer Eclipse Blood Collection Needle with Pre-Attached Holder423180%
Bd Ultra Fine Pen Needle37500%
Bd Safetyglide Needle Only 25 G32800%
Unspecified Bd Needle32700%
Bd Ultra-Fine Pen Needle32000%
Magellan330200%
Bd Vacutainer Flashback Blood Collection Needle51900%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Ez-Io Power Driver reports

How many FDA reports name Ez-Io Power Driver?

463 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (96.3%), death (2.2%) and injury (1.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

power problem (70.4%), complete loss of power (9.5%), device stops intermittently (8.4%), battery problem (2.6%) and loss of power (1.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Ez-Io Power Driver was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.