Reported Reactions

Devices › Pulse generator, pacemaker, implantable, with cardiac resynchronization (crt-p)

Device brand name · Implantable pacemaker pulse generator

Anthem Rf Crt-P: medical device reports filed with FDA

300 reports name it, 2015–2023. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Crm-Sylmar. Product code NKE.

300
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 27 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
57.3%
classified as malfunction
43.9% across the product code
7.3%
classified as death, as reported
22 reports · not verified by FDA

300 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Anthem Rf Crt-P" (implantable pacemaker pulse generator); the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Crm-Sylmar; received from April 2015 to December 2023. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (57.3%), injury (35.3%) and death (7.3%); across all pulse generator, pacemaker, implantable, with cardiac resynchronization (crt-p) reports (product code NKE) death is recorded in 1.9% and malfunction in 43.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are pacemaker found in back-up mode (19.7%), device operates differently than expected (14%) and over-sensing (13.7%). The patient problems coded most often are death, muscle stimulation and dizziness. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

035702015: 4120152016: 7020162017: 4920172018: 4820182019: 3220192020: 2020202021: 2120212022: 920222023: 102023

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death7.3%22
Injury35.3%106
Malfunction57.3%172
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%300
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 14,671 reports carrying product code NKE. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Pacemaker found in back-up mode5919.7%2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly4214%1.7%
Over-sensing4113.7%10.4%
Premature discharge of battery248%18.5%
Operating system version or upgrade problem155%0.2%
Failure to interrogate134.3%1.3%
Data problem93%1.6%
Signal artifact/noise93%4.1%
Failure to capture72.3%4.2%
Incorrect measurementthe device measured wrongly51.7%0.8%
Premature elective replacement indicator51.7%0.5%
Capturing problem41.3%0.8%
No device output41.3%0.2%
No pacing41.3%0.3%
Device sensing problem31%1.3%
Programming issue31%0%
Telemetry discrepancy31%1%
Under-sensing31%1.6%
Application program version or upgrade problem20.7%0%
High capture threshold20.7%1.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term227.3%
Muscle stimulation113.7%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness82.7%
Dyspneashortness of breath41.3%
Syncopefainting41.3%
Arrhythmia31%
Discomfortdiscomfort31%
Pocket erosion31%
Ventricular tachycardiaa fast rhythm from the lower heart chambers31%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate20.7%
Complaint, ill-defined20.7%
Fatiguetiredness20.7%
Loss of consciousnesspassing out20.7%
Painpain, site not specified20.7%
Palpitationsawareness of the heartbeat20.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAnthem Rf Crt-PProduct code NKEAll MAUDE reports
Reports30014,67126,136,888
Share of that pool—2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports73199
Classified as injury35.3%54.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction57.3%43.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NKE

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Valitude X4 Crt-P2,1338340.8%
Visionist X4 Crt-P1,7788770.2%
Percepta Quad CRT-P MRI SureScan1,5392612.3%
Quadra Allure MP CRT-P1,2912052.2%
Invive95940.1%
Visionist Crt-P6232780.6%
Valitude Crt-P5952210.3%
Percepta CRT-P MRI SureScan549971.3%
Accolade4,33541.5%
Quadra Allure MP RF CRT-P765176.1%
Contak Renewal Tr48903.5%
Percepta Quad Crtp32900%
Solara Quad CRT-P MRI SureScan273402.2%
Allure Quadra RF CRT-P68065.9%
Intua25350%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Anthem Rf Crt-P reports

How many FDA reports name Anthem Rf Crt-P?

300 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (57.3%), injury (35.3%) and death (7.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

pacemaker found in back-up mode (19.7%), device operates differently than expected (14%), over-sensing (13.7%), premature discharge of battery (8%) and operating system version or upgrade problem (5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Anthem Rf Crt-P was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.