Reported Reactions

Devices › Implantable pulse generator, pacemaker (non-crt)

Device brand name · Implantable pulse generator

Accolade: medical device reports filed with FDA

4,335 reports name it, 2008–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Guidant Crm Clonmel Ireland. Product code LWP.

4,335
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 234 a year
4
reports, 12 months to August 2026
6 in the 12 months before
36.3%
classified as malfunction
41.5% across the product code
1.5%
classified as death, as reported
67 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 4,335 reports that name the brand "Accolade" (implantable pulse generator), received between January 2008 and April 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Guidant Crm Clonmel Ireland. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

4 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 33% from 6 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (62.1%), malfunction (36.3%) and death (1.5%); across all implantable pulse generator, pacemaker (non-crt) reports (product code LWP) death is recorded in 1.2% and malfunction in 41.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are high impedance (22.6%), ambient noise problem (21.1%) and over-sensing (19.6%). The patient problems coded most often are sepsis, syncope and complaint, ill-defined. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

012Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 1May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

09461,8922008: 920082010: 32013: 320132016: 8872017: 1,49520172018: 1,8922019: 1620192020: 112021: 920212025: 72026: 32026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.5%67
Injury62.1%2,694
Malfunction36.3%1,573
Other0%0
Not given0%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.1%4,295
Voluntary report0.1%3
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.9%37

Grey bar: all 157,494 reports carrying product code LWP. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
High impedance97822.6%9%
Ambient noise problem91421.1%2%
Over-sensing84819.6%8.4%
Pacing problem62014.3%5.6%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly45510.5%2.9%
Failure to capture3949.1%5.3%
Capturing problem2215.1%1.8%
Premature discharge of battery2134.9%22.3%
Device displays incorrect message1583.6%7.9%
Connection problema connection problem1443.3%1.6%
Low impedance1303%2%
Impedance problem1132.6%0.9%
Fitting problem922.1%0.1%
Device sensing problem731.7%2.2%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit691.6%0.6%
Defective devicethe device was defective661.5%3.5%
Electrical /electronic property probleman electrical or electronic problem581.3%0.5%
Under-sensing541.2%2.1%
Extracardiac stimulation521.2%0.6%
Migration or expulsion of device501.2%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection3959.1%
Syncopefainting3367.8%
Complaint, ill-defined1784.1%
Pocket erosion1242.9%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1062.4%
No patient involvement892.1%
Erosion882%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term651.5%
Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm541.2%
Muscle stimulation511.2%
Falla fall461.1%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue451%
Painpain, site not specified451%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate370.9%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped370.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAccoladeProduct code LWPAll MAUDE reports
Reports4,335157,49426,136,888
Share of that pool—2.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports15129
Classified as injury62.1%57.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction36.3%41.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.1%99.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LWP

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Assurity Mri18,9952,0351.8%
Teligen16,537470.6%
Ingenio7,5394930.8%
Cognis8,69461.5%
Ingevity9,0392990.9%
Attain Otw7,77309.1%
Energen5,23700.6%
Energen Icd3,1511420.2%
ACUITY X4 Spiral S2,8164240.5%
ACUITY X4 Straight2,6723820.4%
Incepta Icd2,4971260.1%
Altrua4,12202.4%
Incepta4,32700.7%
Revo MRI SureScan1,996122.9%
Acuity3,84861%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Accolade reports

How many FDA reports name Accolade?

4,335 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 4 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (62.1%), malfunction (36.3%) and death (1.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

high impedance (22.6%), ambient noise problem (21.1%), over-sensing (19.6%), pacing problem (14.3%) and device operates differently than expected (10.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.1%) and voluntary reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Accolade was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.