Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 2 drug pages

Nucleoside analog antiviral: adverse event reports filed with FDA

59,646 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

59,646
reports across the class
0.3% of all reports
630
reports, 12 months to June 2026
728 in the 12 months before
67.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
2
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Nucleoside analog antiviral is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 2 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 59,646 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.3% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.

630 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, down 13% from 728 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 67.2% of the class's reports are marked serious, 11.7% record death among the outcomes and 23.8% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are fatigue (14.1%), anaemia (12.4%) and nausea (11.3%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
Ribaviringeneric49,3848364.9%Fatigue
LonsurfTrifluridine and tipiracilbrand10,26254778.4%Death

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

072144Jul 2021: 94Aug 2021: 119Sep 2021: 92Oct 2021: 93Nov 2021: 98Dec 2021: 942022Jan 2022: 81Feb 2022: 89Mar 2022: 144Apr 2022: 97May 2022: 113Jun 2022: 99Jul 2022: 89Aug 2022: 66Sep 2022: 113Oct 2022: 84Nov 2022: 91Dec 2022: 1122023Jan 2023: 66Feb 2023: 74Mar 2023: 106Apr 2023: 86May 2023: 90Jun 2023: 96Jul 2023: 109Aug 2023: 107Sep 2023: 113Oct 2023: 88Nov 2023: 126Dec 2023: 942024Jan 2024: 82Feb 2024: 107Mar 2024: 113Apr 2024: 131May 2024: 90Jun 2024: 37Jul 2024: 46Aug 2024: 51Sep 2024: 69Oct 2024: 57Nov 2024: 65Dec 2024: 512025Jan 2025: 69Feb 2025: 45Mar 2025: 54Apr 2025: 77May 2025: 83Jun 2025: 61Jul 2025: 55Aug 2025: 53Sep 2025: 60Oct 2025: 55Nov 2025: 35Dec 2025: 452026Jan 2026: 48Feb 2026: 48Mar 2026: 66Apr 2026: 60May 2026: 55Jun 2026: 50

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Fatiguetiredness14.1%8,433
  2. Anaemialow red blood cells12.4%7,376
  3. Nauseafeeling sick11.3%6,746
  4. Rashskin rash6.6%3,936
  5. Headachehead pain6.5%3,903
  6. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools6.2%3,722
  7. Vomitingbeing sick6%3,570
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term5.9%3,530
  9. Pruritusitching5.8%3,486
  10. White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count5.6%3,343
  11. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy5.5%3,296
  12. Decreased appetitereduced appetite5.5%3,291
  13. Pyrexiafever5.3%3,170
  14. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected5.2%3,073
  15. Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.8%2,858
  16. Insomniadifficulty sleeping4.8%2,837
  17. Weight decreasedweight loss4.2%2,509
  18. Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin4%2,407
  19. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4%2,378
  20. Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count4%2,366
  21. Depressionlow mood3.7%2,180
  22. Hepatitis Chepatitis C infection3.5%2,068
  23. Painpain, site not specified3.4%2,034
  24. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.3%1,975
  25. Disease progressionthe disease advanced3.1%1,837

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 2 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death11.7%6,959
Life-threatening2.3%1,387
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)23.8%14,185
Disability1.1%647
Congenital anomaly0.1%80
Other serious42.2%25,171
Not serious32.8%19,562

Patient age

Under 20.1%74
2 to 110.1%86
12 to 170.2%93
18 to 449.2%5,472
45 to 6439.4%23,494
65 to 7410.2%6,113
75 and over3.7%2,204
Age not given37.1%22,110

Who reported

Physician24.5%14,626
Pharmacist6.1%3,658
Other health professional25.4%15,141
Lawyer0%28
Consumer or non-health professional41.8%24,947
Not given2.1%1,246

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Nucleoside analog antiviral reports

Which drugs are in the Nucleoside analog antiviral class on this site?

Ribavirin and Lonsurf. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

59,646 reports through June 2026, 630 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

fatigue (14.1%), anaemia (12.4%), nausea (11.3%), rash (6.6%) and headache (6.5%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.