Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 3 drug pages
Cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator potentiator: adverse event reports filed with FDA
15,772 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2012–2026.
- 15,772
- reports across the class
- 0.1% of all reports
- 1,033
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 890 in the 12 months before
- 66.8%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 3
- drugs with a page
- brand and generic names counted separately
Cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator potentiator is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 3 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 15,772 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.1% of the database, from May 2012 to June 2026.
1,033 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, up 16% from 890 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 66.8% of the class's reports are marked serious, 2.9% record death among the outcomes and 52.3% record hospitalisation, as reported.
Across the class the reactions recorded most often are hospitalisation (14.2%), infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis (12.5%) and dyspnoea (4.3%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.
The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Drugs in the class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious | Top term recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OrkambiLumacaftor and ivacaftor | brand | 8,112 | 50 | 61.8% | Infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis |
| KalydecoIvacaftor | brand | 7,054 | 486 | 74.7% | Hospitalisation |
| AlyftrekVanzacaftor, tezacaftor, and deutivacaftor | brand | 606 | 497 | 41.6% | Hospitalisation |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Reports by month, five years
FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
Reactions recorded across the class
share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class
- Hospitalisationadmission to hospital14.2%2,234
- Dyspnoeashortness of breath4.3%672
- Infectionan infection, type not specified3.6%572
- Coughcough3.6%571
- Pulmonary function test decreased3.1%489
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.8%447
- Pneumonialung infection2.8%439
- Cystic fibrosis2.7%430
- Chest discomfortchest discomfort2.6%413
- Headachehead pain2.2%341
- Nasopharyngitisa cold2.1%332
- Influenzaflu2%318
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools2%311
- Fatiguetiredness2%309
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term1.9%297
- Nauseafeeling sick1.7%273
- Lower respiratory tract infectiona chest infection1.7%270
- Abdominal pain upperupper stomach pain1.6%254
- Vomitingbeing sick1.5%244
- Pyrexiafever1.4%225
- Haemoptysiscoughing up blood1.4%220
- Weight decreasedweight loss1.4%214
- Sinusitissinus infection1.3%211
- Cystic fibrosis respiratory infection suppression1.3%204
Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 3 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.
Outcomes, patients and reporters
Outcomes recorded
Patient age
Who reported
Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.
Questions about Cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator potentiator reports
Which drugs are in the Cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator potentiator class on this site?
Orkambi, Kalydeco and Alyftrek. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.
How many reports does the class have?
15,772 reports through June 2026, 1,033 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.
What reactions are recorded most often?
hospitalisation (14.2%), infective pulmonary exacerbation of cystic fibrosis (12.5%), dyspnoea (4.3%), infection (3.6%) and cough (3.6%).
Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?
No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.
How do I report an adverse event?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.