Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 2 drug pages
BCL-2 inhibitor: adverse event reports filed with FDA
57,562 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2014–2026.
- 57,562
- reports across the class
- 0.3% of all reports
- 6,424
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 6,532 in the 12 months before
- 90.7%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 2
- drugs with a page
- brand and generic names counted separately
BCL-2 inhibitor is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 2 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 57,562 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.3% of the database, from May 2014 to June 2026.
6,424 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 6,532 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 90.7% of the class's reports are marked serious, 28.4% record death among the outcomes and 38.7% record hospitalisation, as reported.
Across the class the reactions recorded most often are death (17.1%), off label use (11.1%) and neutropenia (5.6%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.
The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Drugs in the class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious | Top term recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VenclextaVenetoclax | brand | 35,195 | 3,239 | 86.6% | Death |
| Venetoclax | generic | 22,367 | 3,185 | 97.1% | Neutropenia |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Reports by month, five years
FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
Reactions recorded across the class
share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class
- Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term17.1%9,842
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label11.1%6,364
- Neutropenialow neutrophils, a type of white blood cell5.6%3,247
- Febrile neutropeniafever with low white blood cells4.9%2,832
- Platelet count decreasedlow platelet count4.6%2,661
- Myelosuppression4.5%2,567
- Pyrexiafever4.5%2,567
- Fatiguetiredness4.4%2,505
- Pneumonialung infection4.2%2,443
- Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools3.9%2,234
- White blood cell count decreasedlow white cell count3.8%2,185
- Thrombocytopenialow platelets3.4%1,981
- Nauseafeeling sick3.4%1,978
- Infectionan infection, type not specified3.3%1,878
- Anaemialow red blood cells3.1%1,806
- Acute myeloid leukaemia2.9%1,697
- Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.9%1,693
- Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.7%1,569
- Haemoglobin decreasedlow haemoglobin2.7%1,537
- Disease progressionthe disease advanced2.4%1,391
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected2.4%1,353
- Hospitalisationadmission to hospital2.3%1,310
- Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection2.1%1,209
- Pancytopenialow counts of all blood cells2%1,166
- Atrial fibrillationan irregular heart rhythm2%1,136
Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 2 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.
Outcomes, patients and reporters
Outcomes recorded
Patient age
Who reported
Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.
Questions about BCL-2 inhibitor reports
Which drugs are in the BCL-2 inhibitor class on this site?
Venclexta and Venetoclax. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.
How many reports does the class have?
57,562 reports through June 2026, 6,424 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.
What reactions are recorded most often?
death (17.1%), off label use (11.1%), neutropenia (5.6%), febrile neutropenia (4.9%) and platelet count decreased (4.6%).
Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?
No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.
How do I report an adverse event?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.