Reported Reactions

Drug classes

Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 3 drug pages

Antisense oligonucleotide: adverse event reports filed with FDA

10,452 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2017–2026.

10,452
reports across the class
0.1% of all reports
1,223
reports, 12 months to June 2026
1,061 in the 12 months before
39.7%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
3
drugs with a page
brand and generic names counted separately

Antisense oligonucleotide is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 3 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 10,452 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0.1% of the database, from January 2017 to June 2026.

1,223 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, up 15% from 1,061 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 39.7% of the class's reports are marked serious, 7.9% record death among the outcomes and 25.3% record hospitalisation, as reported.

Across the class the reactions recorded most often are product dose omission issue (9%), no adverse event (6.9%) and headache (5.4%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.

The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Drugs in the class

DrugName typeReportsLatest 12 monthsMarked seriousTop term recorded
SpinrazaNusinersenbrand7,45159149%Headache
Exondys 51Eteplirsenbrand2,23745817.1%Product dose omission issue
Amondys 45Casimersenbrand76417415.3%Product dose omission issue

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Reports by month, five years

0209417Jul 2021: 64Aug 2021: 69Sep 2021: 304Oct 2021: 97Nov 2021: 81Dec 2021: 872022Jan 2022: 78Feb 2022: 112Mar 2022: 82Apr 2022: 44May 2022: 51Jun 2022: 67Jul 2022: 247Aug 2022: 138Sep 2022: 66Oct 2022: 92Nov 2022: 89Dec 2022: 792023Jan 2023: 185Feb 2023: 68Mar 2023: 91Apr 2023: 71May 2023: 68Jun 2023: 66Jul 2023: 388Aug 2023: 164Sep 2023: 52Oct 2023: 49Nov 2023: 58Dec 2023: 572024Jan 2024: 152Feb 2024: 48Mar 2024: 55Apr 2024: 55May 2024: 50Jun 2024: 52Jul 2024: 387Aug 2024: 61Sep 2024: 67Oct 2024: 49Nov 2024: 68Dec 2024: 552025Jan 2025: 51Feb 2025: 64Mar 2025: 59Apr 2025: 70May 2025: 78Jun 2025: 52Jul 2025: 417Aug 2025: 55Sep 2025: 53Oct 2025: 42Nov 2025: 42Dec 2025: 542026Jan 2026: 46Feb 2026: 79Mar 2026: 87Apr 2026: 52May 2026: 51Jun 2026: 245

FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

Reactions recorded across the class

share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class

  1. Product dose omission issuea dose was missed9%941
  2. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported6.9%718
  3. Headachehead pain5.4%560
  4. Post lumbar puncture syndrome4.9%514
  5. Pyrexiafever4.7%490
  6. Pneumonialung infection4.1%426
  7. Procedural painpain from a procedure3.6%379
  8. Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term3.2%339
  9. Vomitingbeing sick3.1%320
  10. Astheniaweakness or lack of energy2.8%290
  11. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell2.7%281
  12. Device issuea problem with the device2.5%259
  13. Back painback pain2.4%255
  14. Falla fall2.2%230
  15. Scoliosis2.2%228
  16. Fatiguetiredness2.2%226
  17. Covid-19COVID-19 infection2.1%223
  18. Influenzaflu2%210
  19. Nasopharyngitisa cold1.9%195
  20. Nauseafeeling sick1.8%184
  21. Painpain, site not specified1.7%173
  22. Coughcough1.5%162
  23. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected1.3%140

Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 3 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.

Outcomes, patients and reporters

Outcomes recorded

Death7.9%824
Life-threatening1%102
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)25.3%2,646
Disability0.3%28
Congenital anomaly0%3
Other serious11.9%1,246
Not serious60.3%6,302

Patient age

Under 26%630
2 to 1120.4%2,134
12 to 1713.6%1,420
18 to 4419%1,987
45 to 643.9%410
65 to 740.6%63
75 and over0.1%13
Age not given36.3%3,795

Who reported

Physician19.7%2,064
Pharmacist1.9%200
Other health professional29.4%3,073
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional48.8%5,103
Not given0.1%12

Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.

Questions about Antisense oligonucleotide reports

Which drugs are in the Antisense oligonucleotide class on this site?

Spinraza, Exondys 51 and Amondys 45. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.

How many reports does the class have?

10,452 reports through June 2026, 1,223 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.

What reactions are recorded most often?

product dose omission issue (9%), no adverse event (6.9%), headache (5.4%), post lumbar puncture syndrome (4.9%) and pyrexia (4.7%).

Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?

No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.

How do I report an adverse event?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.