Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Septra: adverse event reports filed with FDA

1,515 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.

1,515
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 67 a year
43
reports, 12 months to June 2026
68 in the 12 months before
59.5%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
8.5%
record death among outcomes, as reported
129 reports · not verified by FDA

1,515 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Septra" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to June 2026. A further 3,449 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 43 reports listed it, down 37% from 68 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 67 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are drug hypersensitivity (40.1%), dyspnoea (18.3%) and wheezing (14.1%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 531 different terms appear across these reports. Drug hypersensitivity is recorded in 40.1% of these reports, against 0.9% of all reports in the database.

59.5% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 8.5% record death among the outcomes and 28.6% record hospitalisation, as reported. 34.7% of the reports came from physicians, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (22.1%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

0714Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 8Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 7Dec 2021: 42022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 8Apr 2022: 8May 2022: 14Jun 2022: 13Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 8Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 5Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 14Nov 2023: 7Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 4Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 9Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 10Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 8Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 2Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 8Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 6Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 7Sep 2025: 9Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0851692004: 5220042005: 462006: 422007: 4820072008: 562009: 352010: 4720102011: 402012: 582013: 4920132014: 652015: 612016: 10720162017: 952018: 1012019: 16920192020: 742021: 712022: 8220222023: 602024: 892025: 5420252026: 14

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Septra reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine40.1%608
  2. Dyspnoeashortness of breath18.3%277
  3. Wheezingwheezing14.1%213
  4. Nauseafeeling sick13.8%209
  5. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg13.4%203
  6. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified12.5%190
  7. Rashskin rash12.1%184
  8. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse11.5%174
  9. Hypothyroidismunderactive thyroid10.2%154
  10. Painpain, site not specified10.2%154
  11. Asthmaasthma9.8%149
  12. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected9.8%148
  13. Thrombosis9.4%142
  14. Nodule9.2%139
  15. Pruritusitching9.2%139
  16. Arthralgiajoint pain9.1%138
  17. Haemoptysiscoughing up blood8.6%131
  18. Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell8.1%122
  19. Pyrexiafever7.9%120
  20. Neuritis7.8%118
  21. Pulmonary vasculitis7.7%116
  22. Vasculitisinflammation of blood vessels7.7%116

Top 30 of 531 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death8.5%129
Life-threatening13.7%207
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)28.6%433
Disability3.6%54
Congenital anomaly1.1%16
Other serious43%651
Not serious40.5%614

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20.3%5
2 to 111.5%22
12 to 171.3%20
18 to 4418.2%275
45 to 6422.1%335
65 to 7416%242
75 and over7.8%118
Age not given32.9%498

Patient sex

Female58.5%886
Male27.9%422
Not given13.7%207

Who reported

Physician34.7%526
Pharmacist6%91
Other health professional30.5%462
Lawyer0.3%5
Consumer or non-health professional24.7%374
Not given3.8%57

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 57.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Prophylaxis775.1%
Urinary tract infection654.3%
Infection prophylaxis161.1%
Antifungal prophylaxis100.7%
Pneumocystis carinii pneumonia100.7%
Infection80.5%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 1,515 reports.

In context

MeasureSeptraAll reports
Reports as suspect product1,51520,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months431,332,454
Marked serious59.5%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports8591
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports286213
Consumer-filed share24.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDrug hypersensitivity 40.1%0.9%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Septra reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Septra?

1,515 reports list Septra as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 43 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 3,449 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Septra reports?

drug hypersensitivity (40.1%), dyspnoea (18.3%), wheezing (14.1%), nausea (13.8%) and pain in extremity (13.4%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Septra was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

59.5% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 8.5% of reports include death and 28.6% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

physician (34.7%), other health professional (30.5%) and consumer or non-health professional (24.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Septra rising?

43 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 37% from 68 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Septra was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Septra?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Septra as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (3,449) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.