Reported Reactions

Drugs

Brand name · Miconazole nitrate

Monistat 3 Combination Pack: adverse event reports filed with FDA

278 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2007–2025.

278
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 14 a year
30
reports, 12 months to June 2026
19 in the 12 months before
3.2%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
0%
record death among outcomes, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

278 adverse event reports received by FDA list the brand name Monistat 3 Combination Pack (miconazole nitrate) as a suspect or interacting product, from April 2007 to October 2025. A further 0 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 30 reports listed it, up 58% from 19 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 14 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded vulvovaginal pain (36%), vulvovaginal burning sensation (33.1%) and vaginal haemorrhage (16.2%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 89 different terms appear across these reports. Vulvovaginal pain is recorded in 36% of these reports, against 0% of all reports in the database.

3.2% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 0% record death among the outcomes and 0% record hospitalisation, as reported. 77.3% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 18 to 44 (6.5%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01530Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 0Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 17Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 12Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 10Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 18Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 30Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

029572007: 320072008: 22016: 2320162017: 202018: 5720182019: 472020: 3620202021: 172022: 1320222023: 112024: 1920242025: 30

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Monistat 3 Combination Pack reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Vulvovaginal pain36%100
  2. Vaginal haemorrhagevaginal bleeding16.2%45
  3. Vulvovaginal discomfort12.9%36
  4. Vulvovaginal pruritus12.2%34
  5. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected10.8%30
  6. Vulvovaginal swelling7.6%21
  7. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse6.8%19
  8. Painpain, site not specified3.2%9
  9. Chemical burn of genitalia2.9%8
  10. Vulvovaginal erythema2.9%8
  11. Vulvovaginal injury2.9%8
  12. Dysuriapain on passing urine2.5%7
  13. Hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction2.5%7
  14. Abdominal painstomach or belly pain2.2%6
  15. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness1.4%4
  16. Exposure during pregnancythe medicine was taken during pregnancy1.4%4
  17. Inappropriate schedule of product administrationthe product was taken at the wrong times1.4%4
  18. Intentional product misusedeliberate use not as intended1.4%4
  19. Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label1.4%4
  20. Product used for unknown indicationthe reason for taking the medicine was not stated1.4%4
  21. Chillschills or shivering1.1%3
  22. Nauseafeeling sick1.1%3
  23. Pruritusitching1.1%3
  24. Pyrexiafever1.1%3
  25. Sleep disordera sleep problem1.1%3
  26. Abdominal distensiona bloated abdomen0.7%2

Top 30 of 89 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death0%0
Life-threatening0%0
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)0%0
Disability0%0
Congenital anomaly0%0
Other serious3.2%9
Not serious96.8%269

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110%0
12 to 171.1%3
18 to 446.5%18
45 to 644.7%13
65 to 742.5%7
75 and over1.8%5
Age not given83.5%232

Patient sex

Female79.1%220
Male0%0
Not given20.9%58

Who reported

Physician0.4%1
Pharmacist0%0
Other health professional0%0
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional77.3%215
Not given22.3%62

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 98.9% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Fungal infection11240.3%
Vulvovaginal mycotic infection4215.1%
Vulvovaginal burning sensation20.7%
Vulvovaginal pruritus20.7%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 278 reports.

In context

MeasureMonistat 3 Combination PackAll reports
Reports as suspect product27820,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months301,332,454
Marked serious3.2%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports0213
Consumer-filed share77.3%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsVulvovaginal pain 36%0%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Monistat 3 Combination Pack reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Monistat 3 Combination Pack?

278 reports list Monistat 3 Combination Pack as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 30 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 0 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Monistat 3 Combination Pack reports?

vulvovaginal pain (36%), vulvovaginal burning sensation (33.1%), vaginal haemorrhage (16.2%), vulvovaginal discomfort (12.9%) and vulvovaginal pruritus (12.2%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Monistat 3 Combination Pack was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

3.2% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 0% of reports include death and 0% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

consumer or non-health professional (77.3%), not given (22.3%) and physician (0.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Monistat 3 Combination Pack rising?

30 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, up 58% from 19 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Monistat 3 Combination Pack was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Monistat 3 Combination Pack?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Monistat 3 Combination Pack as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (0) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.