Reported Reactions

Drugs

Generic name

Levofloxacin hemihydrate: adverse event reports filed with FDA

796 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2013–2026.

796
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 60 a year
59
reports, 12 months to June 2026
83 in the 12 months before
98.6%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
9.7%
record death among outcomes, as reported
77 reports · not verified by FDA

796 adverse event reports received by FDA list levofloxacin hemihydrate, a generic name as a suspect or interacting product, from March 2013 to June 2026. A further 1,481 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 59 reports listed it, down 29% from 83 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 60 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

Reporters most often recorded dyspnoea (34.2%), therapeutic product effect incomplete (28.6%) and asthma (22.9%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 351 different terms appear across these reports. Dyspnoea is recorded in 34.2% of these reports, against 2.7% of all reports in the database.

98.6% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 9.7% record death among the outcomes and 70.5% record hospitalisation, as reported. 46.1% of the reports came from other health professionals, and the largest patient age group is 75 and over (34.3%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

01326Jul 2021: 5Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 14Nov 2021: 8Dec 2021: 122022Jan 2022: 26Feb 2022: 18Mar 2022: 26Apr 2022: 15May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 16Jul 2022: 15Aug 2022: 11Sep 2022: 11Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 11Dec 2022: 222023Jan 2023: 19Feb 2023: 12Mar 2023: 8Apr 2023: 12May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 11Sep 2023: 9Oct 2023: 20Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 82024Jan 2024: 10Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 10Apr 2024: 11May 2024: 8Jun 2024: 7Jul 2024: 7Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 10Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 42025Jan 2025: 8Feb 2025: 9Mar 2025: 10Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 7Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 5May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

0901792013: 320132014: 92015: 1620152016: 132017: 2020172018: 522019: 4520192020: 582021: 7620212022: 1792023: 12920232024: 1032025: 6520252026: 28

2026 covers reports received through June 2026 only.

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Levofloxacin hemihydrate reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Dyspnoeashortness of breath34.2%272
  2. Asthmaasthma22.9%182
  3. Wheezingwheezing22.2%177
  4. Painpain, site not specified21.9%174
  5. Falla fall18.5%147
  6. Productive cougha cough with phlegm18.2%145
  7. Hypotensionlow blood pressure18%143
  8. Pain in extremitypain in an arm or leg18%143
  9. Constipationconstipation17.8%142
  10. Balance disorderproblems with balance17.7%141
  11. Cognitive disorderproblems with thinking or memory17.6%140
  12. Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine17.6%140
  13. Creatinine renal clearance decreased17.2%137
  14. Mobility decreasedreduced ability to move about17%135
  15. Sedationdrowsiness from a medicine16.7%133
  16. Sedation complication15.8%126
  17. Toxicity to various agentspoisoning or toxic effect of one or more substances15.6%124
  18. Nauseafeeling sick15.1%120
  19. Hypoxialow oxygen14.6%116
  20. Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse14.4%115
  21. Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated14.3%114
  22. Lung disordera lung problem, type not specified12.6%100

Top 30 of 351 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death9.7%77
Life-threatening25.6%204
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)70.5%561
Disability12.4%99
Congenital anomaly4.1%33
Other serious85.9%684
Not serious1.4%11

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.3%2
12 to 170.1%1
18 to 446.5%52
45 to 6422%175
65 to 7419.7%157
75 and over34.3%273
Age not given17.1%136

Patient sex

Female51.1%407
Male35.6%283
Not given13.3%106

Who reported

Physician25.1%200
Pharmacist8.4%67
Other health professional46.1%367
Lawyer0%0
Consumer or non-health professional19.7%157
Not given0.6%5

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 4.5% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Urinary tract infection10713.4%
Tardive dyskinesia172.1%
Pneumonia101.3%
Antibiotic therapy91.1%
Bronchitis81%
Pulmonary tuberculosis70.9%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 796 reports.

In context

MeasureLevofloxacin hemihydrateAll reports
Reports as suspect product79620,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months591,332,454
Marked serious98.6%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports9791
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports705213
Consumer-filed share19.7%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsDyspnoea 34.2%2.7%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Levofloxacin hemihydrate reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Levofloxacin hemihydrate?

796 reports list Levofloxacin hemihydrate as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 59 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,481 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Levofloxacin hemihydrate reports?

dyspnoea (34.2%), therapeutic product effect incomplete (28.6%), asthma (22.9%), wheezing (22.2%) and pain (21.9%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Levofloxacin hemihydrate was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

98.6% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 9.7% of reports include death and 70.5% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

other health professional (46.1%), physician (25.1%) and consumer or non-health professional (19.7%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Levofloxacin hemihydrate rising?

59 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 29% from 83 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Levofloxacin hemihydrate was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Levofloxacin hemihydrate?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Levofloxacin hemihydrate as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,481) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.