Reported Reactions

Drugs

Product name as reported

Levitra: adverse event reports filed with FDA

5,409 reports list it as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2025.

5,409
reports as suspect product
0% of all reports · about 240 a year
1
reports, 12 months to June 2026
3 in the 12 months before
21.4%
marked serious by the reporter
57.4% across all reports
1%
record death among outcomes, as reported
56 reports · not verified by FDA

5,409 adverse event reports received by FDA list the product name "Levitra" as reporters wrote it as a suspect or interacting product, from January 2004 to July 2025. A further 1,685 reports list it only as a concomitant medication, and those are not counted in the figures on this page.

In the 12 months to June 2026, 1 report listed it, down 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Over its reporting history that is about 240 reports a year and 0% of the 20,646,523 reports in the database. How many people take it is not in the data, so a count is not a rate of occurrence.

The MedDRA terms listed most often are erectile dysfunction (25.4%), drug ineffective (20.6%) and headache (11%). A report can list several reactions, so shares add to more than 100%; 424 different terms appear across these reports. Erectile dysfunction is recorded in 25.4% of these reports, against 0.1% of all reports in the database.

21.4% of the reports are marked serious by the reporter; 1% record death among the outcomes and 3.7% record hospitalisation, as reported. 26.8% of the reports came from consumers, and the largest patient age group is 45 to 64 (23.6%). FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event."

Reports by month, five years

023Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.

By year received

05451,0892004: 80520042005: 8062006: 1,0892007: 8020072008: 5982009: 4132010: 15520102011: 4622012: 2382013: 17520132014: 1282015: 1182016: 11320162017: 702018: 512019: 5520192020: 302021: 82022: 420222023: 62024: 42025: 12025

Reactions recorded in the reports

share of Levitra reports recording the termall reports in the database

  1. Erectile dysfunctiondifficulty getting or keeping an erection25.4%1,372
  2. Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected20.6%1,115
  3. Headachehead pain11%597
  4. Flushingsudden reddening or warmth of the skin5.4%291
  5. Erection increased3.8%203
  6. Nasal congestiona blocked nose3.7%200
  7. Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness3.1%165
  8. Adverse eventan unwanted medical event, type not specified2.9%156
  9. Vision blurredblurred vision2%108
  10. Drug effect decreasedthe medicine had less effect1.7%90
  11. Nauseafeeling sick1.6%85
  12. Dyspepsiaindigestion1.5%79
  13. Drug use for unknown indicationthe reason for taking the medicine was not stated1.2%63
  14. Heart rate increaseda fast heart rate reading1.1%62
  15. No adverse eventno adverse event was reported1.1%61
  16. Feeling abnormalfeeling odd or not right1.1%59
  17. Chest painchest pain1.1%58
  18. Erythemaskin redness1%52
  19. No adverse drug effect1%52
  20. Diarrhoealoose or frequent stools0.9%50
  21. Feeling hotfeeling hot0.9%49
  22. Dyspnoeashortness of breath0.9%48
  23. Tinnitusringing in the ears0.9%47
  24. Ejaculation disorder0.8%44
  25. Back painback pain0.8%43
  26. Blood pressure decreaseda low blood pressure reading0.8%43
  27. Palpitationsawareness of the heartbeat0.8%42
  28. Ejaculation failure0.7%39
  29. Unevaluable eventthe event could not be assessed0.7%39

Top 30 of 424 MedDRA preferred terms recorded across these reports, with a plain-language gloss where one is available. One report can record several terms. The hollow bar is the share of all reports in the database; it describes the reports, not the patients. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Outcomes recorded

Death1%56
Life-threatening0.7%40
Hospitalisation (initial or prolonged)3.7%201
Disability1.8%98
Congenital anomaly0%2
Other serious17.3%937
Not serious78.6%4,253

Outcome flags as the reporter set them; a report can carry several, and "other serious" is FDA's own category for serious reports outside the named outcomes. Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports. FDA has not verified any outcome and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence of these events."

Patients and reporters

Patient age

Under 20%0
2 to 110.1%3
12 to 170.1%3
18 to 446.5%353
45 to 6423.6%1,274
65 to 7415.3%829
75 and over8.7%469
Age not given45.8%2,478

Patient sex

Female1%56
Male96.3%5,209
Not given2.7%144

Who reported

Physician11.1%600
Pharmacist3.9%209
Other health professional16.4%889
Lawyer0.9%48
Consumer or non-health professional26.8%1,447
Not given41%2,216

Age and sex as stated in the report; the reporter's qualification is the primary source recorded by FDA. 67.3% of reports give the United States as the country of the event or reporter.

Reason for use recorded

Indication as recorded (MedDRA)ReportsShare
Erectile dysfunction2,67549.5%
Sexual dysfunction330.6%
Ill-defined disorder150.3%
Unevaluable event130.2%
Libido decreased70.1%
Organic erectile dysfunction50.1%

The indication field is filled in by the reporter and is often blank; shares are of all 5,409 reports.

In context

MeasureLevitraAll reports
Reports as suspect product5,40920,646,523
Share of that pool—0%
Reports, latest 12 months11,332,454
Marked serious21.4%57.4%
Death recorded among outcomes, per 1,000 reports1091
Hospitalisation recorded, per 1,000 reports37213
Consumer-filed share26.8%45.8%
Top term, share of reportsErectile dysfunction 25.4%0.1%

Shares are of reports, not of patients treated. The number of people taking a product is not in the data, so none of these figures is a rate, and differences between columns reflect who takes a product, who reports and how long it has been sold. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."

Questions about Levitra reports

How many adverse event reports has FDA received for Levitra?

5,409 reports list Levitra as a suspect or interacting product in the openFDA FAERS release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through June 2026. 1 of them arrived in the latest 12 months. Another 1,685 list it only as a concomitant medication.

What reactions are recorded in Levitra reports?

erectile dysfunction (25.4%), drug ineffective (20.6%), headache (11%), flushing (5.4%) and erection increased (3.8%). These are MedDRA preferred terms coded from what the reporter described; a report can list several, and a term's presence is not a finding that Levitra was responsible.

How serious are the reports?

21.4% are marked serious by the reporter. Among the outcomes recorded, 1% of reports include death and 3.7% include hospitalisation. FDA has not verified these outcomes and states that the reports "cannot be used to estimate the incidence" of the events.

Who files these reports?

not given (41%), consumer or non-health professional (26.8%) and other health professional (16.4%). Most reports reach FDA through the manufacturer, which must forward reports it receives.

Are reports for Levitra rising?

1 reports in the 12 months to June 2026, down 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. Counts also move with how many people take a product, its time on the market and publicity.

Do these reports show that Levitra was responsible for these reactions?

No. FDA states that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report" and that for any given report "there is no certainty that a suspected drug caused the event." The reaction may relate to the condition being treated, to other medicines, or to something else.

Is this a list of the side effects of Levitra?

No. It is a count of what was reported to FDA. The adverse reactions observed in clinical studies are printed on the FDA-approved label, which a pharmacist or clinician can go through with you.

How do I report an adverse event?

Consumers and health professionals can report to FDA through MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 online, or 1-800-FDA-1088), or to the manufacturer, which must pass reports on. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A report counts here when it lists Levitra as a suspect or interacting product; reports listing it only as a concomitant medication (1,685) are excluded. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.