Reported Reactions

Devices › Device, hemostasis, vascular

Device brand name · Vascular hemostasis device

Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device: medical device reports filed with FDA

278 reports name it, 2000–2002. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Vascular Solutions. Product code MGB.

278
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 11 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
6.8%
classified as malfunction
16.4% across the product code
3.2%
classified as death, as reported
9 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 278 reports that name the brand "Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device" (vascular hemostasis device), received between August 2000 and November 2002; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Vascular Solutions. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (88.5%), malfunction (6.8%) and death (3.2%); across all device, hemostasis, vascular reports (product code MGB) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 16.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are tears, rips, holes in device, device material (4.7%), difficult or delayed positioning (4%) and occlusion within device (2.9%). The patient problems coded most often are therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional, treatment with medication(s) and occlusion. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2002.

By year received

0861722000: 4220002001: 17220012002: 642002

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.2%9
Injury88.5%246
Malfunction6.8%19
Other1.4%4
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%278
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 124,366 reports carrying product code MGB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material134.7%0%
Difficult or delayed positioning114%1.1%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked82.9%0.1%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert72.5%2.2%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove72.5%4.2%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)62.2%0.4%
Balloon rupture51.8%0%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified51.8%0.1%
Decrease in pressure41.4%1.1%
Device, removal of (non-implant)41.4%0.5%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method41.4%4.6%
Physical resistance41.4%0.3%
Balloon leak(s)31.1%0%
Component missing31.1%0.4%
Detachment of device component31.1%3.4%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient31.1%0.1%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked31.1%0.2%
Pressure, insufficient31.1%0%
Replace31.1%0.6%
Bent20.7%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional16760.1%
Treatment with medication(s)10537.8%
Occlusion10136.3%
Painpain, site not specified9333.5%
Surgical procedure, additional8530.6%
Loss of pulse7828.1%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue5921.2%
Surgical procedure5419.4%
Bleeding5118.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)5018%
Hospitalization required3111.2%
Skin discoloration3010.8%
Transfusion of blood products3010.8%
Thrombus207.2%
Ischemia186.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureVascular Solutions Duett Sealing DeviceProduct code MGBAll MAUDE reports
Reports278124,36626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports3269
Classified as injury88.5%82.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction6.8%16.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.5%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MGB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Perclose Proglide 6f Suture Mediated Closure Smc System46,23600.3%
Perclose ProStyle Suture-Mediated Closure and Repair System16,441220%
Perclose ProStyle12,9352,3080.1%
Starclose Se Vascular Closure System6,43200.4%
Perclose ProGlide3,5546530.9%
Angio-Seal2,5239020.8%
Exoseal2,4411,1610%
6f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Ous1,81800.3%
Mynx Control1,7667680.1%
Starclose Vascular Closure System1,88081.2%
6f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Us1,61700.2%
Mynxgrip1,2544220.3%
Prostar Xl Suture-Mediated Closure1,23903.1%
Mynxgrip Vascular Closure Device 6f-7f1,17100.6%
8f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Ous1,05600.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device reports

How many FDA reports name Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device?

278 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (88.5%), malfunction (6.8%) and death (3.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

tears, rips, holes in device, device material (4.7%), difficult or delayed positioning (4%), occlusion within device (2.9%), difficult to insert (2.5%) and difficult to remove (2.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Vascular Solutions Duett Sealing Device was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.