Reported Reactions

Devices › Wire, guide, catheter

Device brand name · Wire guide catheter

V-18 Control Wire: medical device reports filed with FDA

554 reports name it, 2010–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific. Product code DQX.

554
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 34 a year
47
reports, 12 months to August 2026
44 in the 12 months before
59.2%
classified as malfunction
57.4% across the product code
0.7%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 554 reports that name the brand "V-18 Control Wire" (wire guide catheter), received between February 2010 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

47 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, close to the 44 of the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (59.2%), injury (39.9%) and death (0.7%); across all wire, guide, catheter reports (product code DQX) death is recorded in 2.8% and malfunction in 57.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are detachment of device or device component (24.7%), entrapment of device (17.9%) and material integrity problem (11.4%). The patient problems coded most often are device embedded in tissue or plaque, foreign body in patient and hemoptysis. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0611Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 4Nov 2022: 6Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 3Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 10Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 5Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 7Feb 2024: 7Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 6May 2024: 6Jun 2024: 3Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 4Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 42025Jan 2025: 5Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 9Dec 2025: 112026Jan 2026: 4Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 3Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 2

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

033662010: 720102011: 112012: 2520122013: 232014: 1720142015: 282016: 3820162017: 352018: 3820182019: 512020: 4220202021: 332022: 2920222023: 392024: 6620242025: 502026: 222026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.7%4
Injury39.9%221
Malfunction59.2%328
Other0.2%1
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report96.6%535
Voluntary report1.3%7
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given2.2%12

Grey bar: all 33,838 reports carrying product code DQX. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off13724.7%5.8%
Entrapment of device9917.9%5%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material6311.4%1.8%
Detachment of device component519.2%9.3%
Fracturea broken bone407.2%7.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove376.7%15.4%
Difficult to advance264.7%4.6%
Peeled/delaminated213.8%7.1%
Material deformation203.6%2%
Failure to advance183.2%4.8%
Breakthe device broke142.5%11.4%
Device contamination with chemical or other material50.9%0.4%
Device damaged by another device40.7%0.8%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked40.7%1.8%
Deformation due to compressive stress30.5%1.5%
Device-device incompatibility30.5%0.1%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert30.5%1.8%
Physical resistance/sticking30.5%1.3%
Unraveled material30.5%3.4%
Contamination20.4%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Device embedded in tissue or plaque6812.3%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient478.5%
Hemoptysis285.1%
No patient involvement213.8%
Perforation of vessels132.3%
Perforation101.8%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding81.4%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue61.1%
Vascular dissection61.1%
Intimal dissection40.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term30.5%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension30.5%
Painpain, site not specified30.5%
Vomitingbeing sick30.5%
Great vessel perforation20.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureV-18 Control WireProduct code DQXAll MAUDE reports
Reports55433,83826,136,888
Share of that pool—1.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports7289
Classified as injury39.9%38.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction59.2%57.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer96.6%88.6%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DQX

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Amplatz Super Stiff658504.7%
Hi-Torque Balance Middleweight Universal Guide Wire47901.3%
Starter guidewire4221791.2%
Amplatz Super Stiff Guidewire40303%
Acs Hi-Torque Balance Middleweight Guide Wire38003.2%
Arrow Ra Cath Set 22 Ga X 1-3/834600%
Radifocus Glidewire330252.1%
V-14 Controlwire32500.3%
Pt322134%
V-14? Control Wire?305250.3%
Acs Hi-Torque Balance Middleweight Guide Wire With Hydrocoat Hydrophilic Coating30401.3%
Guide Wires37401.6%
Runthrough Ns25901.9%
Hi-Torque Pilot Guide Wire25604.3%
Hi-Torque Command 18 Guide Wire24500%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about V-18 Control Wire reports

How many FDA reports name V-18 Control Wire?

554 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 47 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (59.2%), injury (39.9%) and death (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

detachment of device or device component (24.7%), entrapment of device (17.9%), material integrity problem (11.4%), detachment of device component (9.2%) and fracture (7.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (96.6%) and voluntary reports (1.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that V-18 Control Wire was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.