Reported Reactions

Devices › Agents, embolic, for treatment of uterine fibroids

Device brand name · Pva

Uterine Artery Embolization: medical device reports filed with FDA

379 reports name it, 2002–2011. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biosphere. Product code NAJ.

379
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0%
classified as malfunction
7.1% across the product code
1.1%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 379 reports that name the brand "Uterine Artery Embolization" (pva), received between February 2002 and May 2011; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biosphere. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are other (62.8%), injury (36.1%) and death (1.1%); across all agents, embolic, for treatment of uterine fibroids reports (product code NAJ) death is recorded in 3.8% and malfunction in 7.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device remains implanted (7.9%), device issue (4.5%) and other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (3.7%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified) and menstrual irregularities. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Uterine Artery Embolization was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in May 2011.

By year received

045892002: 8920022003: 5620032004: 3920042005: 6020052006: 4420062007: 4620072008: 2020082009: 920092010: 720102011: 92011

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.1%4
Injury36.1%137
Malfunction0%0
Other62.8%238
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report0%0
Voluntary report100%379
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 477 reports carrying product code NAJ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device remains implanted307.9%6.7%
Device issuea problem with the device174.5%2.9%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)143.7%0.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified102.6%0.8%
Migration or expulsion of device61.6%2.3%
Malfunction41.1%0%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert20.5%0.2%
Failure to advance10.3%0%
False claim10.3%0.2%
Implant extrusion10.3%0.2%
Nonstandard device10.3%0%
Partial blockage10.3%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified14939.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)11029%
Menstrual irregularities8622.7%
Bleeding6416.9%
Treatment with medication(s)5213.7%
Surgical procedure4010.6%
Hospitalization required379.8%
Fever359.2%
Abnormal vaginal discharge318.2%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain246.3%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional236.1%
Identified diagnosis205.3%
Fatiguetiredness174.5%
Hot flashes/flushes143.7%
Ambulation or postural difficulties133.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUterine Artery EmbolizationProduct code NAJAll MAUDE reports
Reports37947726,136,888
Share of that pool—79.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports11389
Classified as injury36.1%50.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0%7.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer0%26.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NAJ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Contour2,235380%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Uterine Artery Embolization reports

How many FDA reports name Uterine Artery Embolization?

379 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

other (62.8%), injury (36.1%) and death (1.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device remains implanted (7.9%), device issue (4.5%), other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (3.7%), reaction (2.6%) and migration or expulsion of device (1.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

voluntary reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Uterine Artery Embolization was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.