Reported Reactions

Devices › Appliance, fixation, nail/blade/plate combination, multiple component

Device brand name · Appliance fixation nail

UNK - Constructs: DHS/DCS: medical device reports filed with FDA

267 reports name it, 2019–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Oberdorf Synthes Produktions. Product code KTT.

267
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 38 a year
17
reports, 12 months to August 2026
3 in the 12 months before
0.7%
classified as malfunction
29.1% across the product code
1.9%
classified as death, as reported
5 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 267 reports that name the brand "UNK - Constructs: DHS/DCS" (appliance fixation nail), received between June 2019 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Oberdorf Synthes Produktions. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

17 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 467% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (97.4%), death (1.9%) and malfunction (0.7%); across all appliance, fixation, nail/blade/plate combination, multiple component reports (product code KTT) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 29.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are migration (8.6%), break (5.6%) and migration or expulsion of device (3%). The patient problems coded most often are nonunion/delayed-union bone fracture, bone fracture(s) and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0815Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 11Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 3Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 2Dec 2023: 22024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 15Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 42026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 6

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0641272019: 3720192020: 12720202021: 3620212022: 2220222023: 820232024: 1720242025: 720252026: 132026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.9%5
Injury97.4%260
Malfunction0.7%2
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%267
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 10,126 reports carrying product code KTT. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed238.6%5.4%
Breakthe device broke155.6%22.2%
Migration or expulsion of device83%1.7%
Device slipped20.7%1.9%
Device-device incompatibility10.4%5.6%
Fracturea broken bone10.4%4.1%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth10.4%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Nonunion/delayed-union bone fracture6925.8%
Bone fracture(s)3613.5%
Painpain, site not specified3513.1%
Necrosisdeath of tissue3312.4%
Loss of range of motion207.5%
Failure of implant186.7%
Injurya physical injury166%
Physical asymmetry166%
Impaired healingslow healing103.7%
Arthritis93.4%
Post operative wound infection93.4%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available62.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term62.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue62.2%
Ambulation or postural difficulties51.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureUNK - Constructs: DHS/DCSProduct code KTTAll MAUDE reports
Reports26710,12626,136,888
Share of that pool—2.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports1939
Classified as injury97.4%70.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.7%29.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KTT

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Femoral Neck System Plate 1 Hole - Sterile20310%
Unknown Hoffmann Lrf18100%
R3 Depth Gauge154120%
Unk - Nail Head Elements Fns Bolt185120%
Unk - Nail Head Elements Fns Antirotation18260%
UNK - Screws: FNS Locking150250%
Trauma Implant26400.4%
Unk - Constructs Pfna16601.2%
UNK - Constructs: Plate/Screws85090%
Helical Blade Coupling Screw30500%
Unkn Taylor Spatial Frame Exfix Dev17500%
T-Handle358170%
Unknown Apex Pin38100.5%
Ebi Xfix Dynafix16400%
Unk Screw195630%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about UNK - Constructs: DHS/DCS reports

How many FDA reports name UNK - Constructs: DHS/DCS?

267 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 17 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (97.4%), death (1.9%) and malfunction (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

migration (8.6%), break (5.6%), migration or expulsion of device (3%), device slipped (0.7%) and device-device incompatibility (0.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that UNK - Constructs: DHS/DCS was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.