Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component)

Device brand name · Hip acetabular cup

Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60: medical device reports filed with FDA

520 reports name it, 2011–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Depuy International 8010379. Product code KWA.

520
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 34 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0%
classified as malfunction
3.4% across the product code
0.8%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

520 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60" (hip acetabular cup); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Depuy International 8010379; received from March 2011 to November 2017. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.2%) and death (0.8%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component) reports (product code KWA) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 3.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (65.6%), loss of osseointegration (11%) and noise, audible (7.9%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, host-tissue reaction and tissue damage. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60 was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2017.

By year received

0731462011: 2820112012: 3220122013: 14220132014: 14620142015: 8520152016: 6020162017: 272017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.8%4
Injury99.2%516
Malfunction0%0
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%520
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 138,213 reports carrying product code KWA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information34165.6%52%
Loss of osseointegration5711%5.1%
Noise, audible417.9%3.2%
Metal shedding debris265%7.6%
Malposition of device101.9%1.4%
Nonstandard device71.3%2.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated40.8%5.2%
Loss of or failure to bond40.8%1.2%
Naturally worn30.6%6.7%
Corrodedthe device corroded10.2%2%
Device issuea problem with the device10.2%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly10.2%1%
Failure to osseointegrate10.2%0.1%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material10.2%0.3%
Migration or expulsion of device10.2%1%
Osseointegration problem10.2%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified29556.7%
Host-tissue reaction21841.9%
Tissue damage8316%
Foreign body reaction5811.2%
Osteolysis183.5%
Bone fracture(s)30.6%
Discomfortdiscomfort30.6%
Necrosisdeath of tissue30.6%
Ambulation or postural difficulties20.4%
Not applicable20.4%
Cyst(s)10.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%
Fibrosis10.2%
Inadequate osseointegration10.2%
Inflammationinflammation10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureTotal Asr Acet Imp Size 60Product code KWAAll MAUDE reports
Reports520138,21326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports839
Classified as injury99.2%94.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0%3.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KWA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx52od3,720130.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx54od2,874110.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 522,42820.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 462,50020.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 542,35000.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 472,42300.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 562,20600.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 492,27800.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 502,05600.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 452,11900.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx50od2,06690%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Durom Acetabular Component2,07100.1%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Unknown Depuy Asr Acetabular Cup1,93300.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60 reports

How many FDA reports name Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60?

520 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.2%) and death (0.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (65.6%), loss of osseointegration (11%), noise, audible (7.9%), metal shedding debris (5%) and malposition of device (1.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Total Asr Acet Imp Size 60 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.