Reported Reactions

Devices › Tube, tracheal (w/wo connector)

Device brand name · Tube tracheal w/wo connector

TaperGuard: medical device reports filed with FDA

933 reports name it, 2010–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Mmj De Cv Usd. Product code BTR.

933
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 60 a year
124
reports, 12 months to August 2026
113 in the 12 months before
86.4%
classified as malfunction
76.6% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

933 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "TaperGuard" (tube tracheal w/wo connector); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Mmj De Cv Usd; received from December 2010 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

124 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 10% from 113 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (86.4%), injury (13.2%) and death (0.4%); across all tube, tracheal (w/wo connector) reports (product code BTR) death is recorded in 1.3% and malfunction in 76.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are gas/air leak (12.3%), inflation problem (10.4%) and material split, cut or torn (5.3%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, unintended extubation and extubate. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01020Sep 2021: 17Oct 2021: 14Nov 2021: 10Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 3Feb 2022: 12Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 5Aug 2022: 5Sep 2022: 6Oct 2022: 9Nov 2022: 10Dec 2022: 72023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 7Mar 2023: 13Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 7Jul 2023: 6Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 13Nov 2023: 6Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 8Feb 2024: 5Mar 2024: 9Apr 2024: 8May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 19Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 16Sep 2024: 20Oct 2024: 6Nov 2024: 12Dec 2024: 132025Jan 2025: 8Feb 2025: 8Mar 2025: 4Apr 2025: 6May 2025: 15Jun 2025: 9Jul 2025: 6Aug 2025: 6Sep 2025: 11Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 9Dec 2025: 172026Jan 2026: 16Feb 2026: 12Mar 2026: 9Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 5Jun 2026: 12Jul 2026: 12Aug 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0691382010: 420102011: 62012: 320122017: 462018: 10520182019: 912020: 9020202021: 1042022: 8220222023: 782024: 13820242025: 1062026: 802026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%4
Injury13.2%123
Malfunction86.4%806
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.1%925
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.9%8

Grey bar: all 19,171 reports carrying product code BTR. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Gas/air leak11512.3%16%
Inflation problem9710.4%11.5%
Material split, cut or torn495.3%3.4%
Defective component444.7%2.8%
Disconnection272.9%3.9%
Leak/splashthe device leaked202.1%7%
Crackthe device cracked131.4%0.8%
Air leak121.3%5.4%
Connection problema connection problem121.3%1.8%
Contamination of device ingredient or reagent121.3%0.1%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material121.3%1.1%
Loose or intermittent connection111.2%0.7%
Packaging problem101.1%0.4%
Deflation problem80.9%4%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label60.6%1.6%
Human-device interface problem60.6%0.5%
Manufacturing, packaging or shipping problem60.6%0.2%
Material puncture/hole50.5%1%
Partial blockage50.5%0.5%
Contamination /decontamination problem40.4%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement16918.1%
Unintended extubation12213.1%
Extubate9410.1%
Low oxygen saturation50.5%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term40.4%
Hypoventilation40.4%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified40.4%
Aspiration/inhalation10.1%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate10.1%
Dysphagia/ odynophagia10.1%
Injurya physical injury10.1%
Painpain, site not specified10.1%
Pulmonary emphysema10.1%
Respiratory failurethe lungs could not supply enough oxygen10.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureTaperGuardProduct code BTRAll MAUDE reports
Reports93319,17126,136,888
Share of that pool—4.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports4139
Classified as injury13.2%19.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction86.4%76.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.1%94.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code BTR

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Shiley12,2361,5131.1%
Mallinckrodt3,10511.2%
Curity664180.2%
Portex Tracheal Tube Clear Murphey Eyesoft Seal2431180.4%
Portex97080.6%
Portex Endotracheal Tube281250%
Portex Endotracheal Tubes223360.4%
Endotracheal Tubes - Airway Management20300%
Salter Labs168150.6%
Avanos170381.2%
Rusch28501.8%
Hudson RCI2241211.3%
Halyard156111.3%
Bivona768111%
Laryngeal Mask Airway61702.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about TaperGuard reports

How many FDA reports name TaperGuard?

933 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 124 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (86.4%), injury (13.2%) and death (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

gas/air leak (12.3%), inflation problem (10.4%), material split, cut or torn (5.3%), defective component (4.7%) and disconnection (2.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that TaperGuard was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.