Reported Reactions

Devices › Pad, heating, powered

Device brand name · Heating pad

Sunbeam: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,502 reports name it, 1999–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Sunbeam Products. Product code IRT.

1,502
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 55 a year
29
reports, 12 months to August 2026
46 in the 12 months before
55%
classified as malfunction
70.1% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

1,502 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Sunbeam" (heating pad); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Sunbeam Products; received from June 1999 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

29 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 37% from 46 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (55%), injury (42.8%) and other (0.7%); across all pad, heating, powered reports (product code IRT) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 70.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fire (28.3%), improper or incorrect procedure or method (13.6%) and labelling, instructions for use or training problem (12%). The patient problems coded most often are burn(s), burn, thermal and partial thickness (second degree) burn. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0612Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 5Dec 2021: 62022Jan 2022: 5Feb 2022: 3Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 3Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 62023Jan 2023: 11Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 12Apr 2023: 6May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 5Nov 2023: 4Dec 2023: 42024Jan 2024: 6Feb 2024: 10Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 2May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 4Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 52025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 4Mar 2025: 5Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 7Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 4Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 4Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 6Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 5Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0851701999: 919992004: 62005: 182006: 2720062007: 162008: 632009: 7420092010: 382011: 152012: 3120122013: 972014: 1022015: 11920152016: 1662017: 1702018: 12720182019: 592020: 752021: 7720212022: 442023: 692024: 4020242025: 392026: 21

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%6
Injury42.8%643
Malfunction55%826
Other0.7%11
Not given1.1%16

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.1%1,488
Voluntary report0.9%13
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0.1%1
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 6,882 reports carrying product code IRT. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fire42528.3%8%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method20413.6%7.9%
Labelling, instructions for use or training problem18012%2.5%
Thermal decomposition of device1479.8%15.6%
Melted1197.9%2.2%
Smoking1046.9%5.1%
Overheating of device1026.8%4.2%
Insufficient device problem information906%4.4%
Hole in material785.2%1.7%
Breakthe device broke463.1%2.9%
Collapse442.9%0.6%
Folded382.5%0.8%
Sticking352.3%0.6%
Device emits odor332.2%2.4%
Material discolored322.1%0.9%
Sparking281.9%27.9%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly221.5%1.5%
Temperature problem171.1%1.2%
Failure to shut off140.9%1.3%
Wire(s), breakage of120.8%1.9%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Burn(s)a burn56037.3%
Burn, thermal553.7%
Partial thickness (second degree) burn463.1%
Full thickness (third degree) burn402.7%
Injurya physical injury171.1%
Surgical procedure80.5%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term50.3%
Hospitalization required50.3%
Painpain, site not specified50.3%
Superficial (first degree) burn50.3%
Burning sensationa burning feeling40.3%
Complaint, ill-defined40.3%
Scarring40.3%
Swellingswelling40.3%
Blister(s)30.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSunbeamProduct code IRTAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,5026,88226,136,888
Share of that pool—21.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports429
Classified as injury42.8%21%36.2%
Classified as malfunction55%70.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.1%91.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code IRT

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Thermophore1,97000.1%
Thermophore Automatic Moist Heat Pack1,32100%
Thermophore Automatic Heat Pack30500%
Thermophore Arthritis Pad27200%
Mighty Bliss25000%
Softheat25100.4%
Conair312100%
Conmed900890.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Sunbeam reports

How many FDA reports name Sunbeam?

1,502 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 29 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (55%), injury (42.8%) and other (0.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fire (28.3%), improper or incorrect procedure or method (13.6%), labelling, instructions for use or training problem (12%), thermal decomposition of device (9.8%) and melted (7.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.1%), voluntary reports (0.9%) and distributor reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Sunbeam was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.