Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, breast, noninflatable, internal, silicone gel-filled

Device brand name · Silicone breast implant

Silicone Breast Implant: medical device reports filed with FDA

545 reports name it, 1993–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Dow Corning. Product code FTR.

545
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
5
reports, 12 months to August 2026
1 in the 12 months before
13%
classified as malfunction
1.6% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 545 reports that name the brand "Silicone Breast Implant" (silicone breast implant), received between January 1993 and July 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Dow Corning. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

5 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 400% from 1 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (73.6%), malfunction (13%) and other (2.4%); across all prosthesis, breast, noninflatable, internal, silicone gel-filled reports (product code FTR) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 1.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are rupture, cause unknown (22.8%), material rupture (15.6%) and explanted (14.5%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, surgical procedure and capsular contracture. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

035Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 2Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0771531993: 1219931994: 1261995: 15319951996: 1161997: 2819971999: 72001: 320012010: 32014: 820142015: 42016: 420162017: 102018: 820182019: 242021: 720212022: 112023: 520232024: 112026: 52026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%2
Injury73.6%401
Malfunction13%71
Other2.4%13
Not given10.6%58

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report0%0
Voluntary report46.2%252
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given53.8%293

Grey bar: all 231,877 reports carrying product code FTR. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Rupture, cause unknown12422.8%1.3%
Material rupture8515.6%42.7%
Explanted7914.5%1.7%
Leak/splashthe device leaked488.8%0.3%
Implant, removal of366.6%0.4%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified173.1%0.1%
Replace101.8%0.4%
Gel leak91.7%1.9%
Migration or expulsion of device91.7%0.2%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material81.5%0%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient71.3%6.6%
Rupture due to capsulotomy50.9%0%
Material disintegration30.6%0%
Product quality problem30.6%0%
Device remains implanted20.4%0.1%
Material perforation20.4%0%
Misplacement20.4%0%
Burst container or vessel10.2%0%
Component(s), broken10.2%0%
Deflation, cause unknown10.2%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified12623.1%
Surgical procedure11521.1%
Capsular contracturescar tissue tightening around an implant11420.9%
Fatiguetiredness5710.5%
Memory loss/impairment275%
Headachehead pain264.8%
Arthralgiajoint pain254.6%
Rashskin rash234.2%
Rupturethe device burst213.9%
Discomfortdiscomfort183.3%
Foreign body reaction183.3%
Inflammationinflammation183.3%
Hair loss173.1%
Soreness162.9%
Failure of implant152.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSilicone Breast ImplantProduct code FTRAll MAUDE reports
Reports545231,87726,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports419
Classified as injury73.6%97.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction13%1.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer0%95%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTR

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
MENTOR MemoryGel Breast Implant57,7717,7080%
Inspira Smooth Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant35,6346,7820%
Inspira Textured Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant24,7952,7660%
Style 410 Cohesive Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant15,2871,8410.1%
Style 15 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant9,5671,5290.1%
Style 20 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant6,3689810.1%
Sientra Silicone Gel Breast Implants6,0141,6820%
Style 115 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant5,7105460%
Unknown Gel Implants5,3377030%
UNK Gel Breast Implant5,3027820.4%
MENTOR MemoryGel Xtra Breast Implant4,9101,3870%
Inspira Smooth Cohesive Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant4,6361,0760%
Sientra Opus Silicone Gel Breast Implant4,61300%
Style 110 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant3,3642790%
Style 10 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant3,3534790.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Silicone Breast Implant reports

How many FDA reports name Silicone Breast Implant?

545 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 5 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (73.6%), malfunction (13%) and other (2.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

rupture, cause unknown (22.8%), material rupture (15.6%), explanted (14.5%), leak/splash (8.8%) and implant, removal of (6.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

voluntary reports (46.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Silicone Breast Implant was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.