Reported Reactions

Devices › Set, administration, intravascular

Device brand name · Set administration intravascular

Safestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75in: medical device reports filed with FDA

306 reports name it, 2018–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: C R Bard Basd -3006260740. Product code FPA.

306
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 37 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
30 in the 12 months before
98.7%
classified as malfunction
79.3% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

306 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Safestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75in" (set administration intravascular); the manufacturer given most often on reports is C R Bard Basd -3006260740; received from April 2018 to January 2025. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, against 30 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (98.7%) and injury (1.3%); across all set, administration, intravascular reports (product code FPA) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 79.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fluid/blood leak (33%), activation problem (25.2%) and material twisted/bent (20.6%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding and infiltration into tissue. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01020Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 4Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 42023Jan 2023: 5Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 20May 2023: 4Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 7Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 4Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 11Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 12Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 6Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 6Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 6Dec 2024: 62025Jan 2025: 7Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

038752018: 1320182019: 6220192020: 3320202021: 3020212022: 2920222023: 5720232024: 7520242025: 72025

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury1.3%4
Malfunction98.7%302
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%306
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 349,387 reports carrying product code FPA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fluid/blood leak10133%13.5%
Activation problem7725.2%0.2%
Material twisted/bent6320.6%12.2%
Material deformation185.9%0.8%
Fail-safe did not operate154.9%0%
Breakthe device broke144.6%2.1%
Crackthe device cracked103.3%1.5%
Component missing92.9%0.2%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off92.9%3.9%
Device dislodged or dislocated82.6%0.1%
Defective component72.3%0.5%
Leak/splashthe device leaked72.3%11.2%
Misassembled62%0.1%
Contamination /decontamination problem51.6%0.2%
Backflow31%0.5%
Material puncture/hole31%0.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem31%0.1%
Connection problema connection problem20.7%0.5%
Failure to advance20.7%0%
Material separation20.7%1.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement103.3%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding20.7%
Infiltration into tissue20.7%
Needle stick/puncture20.7%
Chemical exposure10.3%
Exposure to body fluids10.3%
Painpain, site not specified10.3%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.3%
Sepsisa severe body-wide response to infection10.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureSafestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75inProduct code FPAAll MAUDE reports
Reports306349,38726,136,888
Share of that pool—0.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury1.3%20%36.2%
Classified as malfunction98.7%79.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%96.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FPA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Inset Guard47,27647,2220.1%
Inset26,40525,6560%
Quick Set23,35123,0280.4%
Autosoft Xc20,328490%
Autosoft 9012,143150%
Access14,16000%
Other Accessories10,42910,4251.7%
Alaris Pump Module Administration Set8,49200.2%
Contact Detach6,4736,1570.1%
Inset 303,5283,4610%
Cadd10,81190.1%
Minimed Quick-Set3,10160%
Cleo 90 Infusion Set3,006230%
Trusteel2,886140%
Autosoft 302,37410%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Safestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75in reports

How many FDA reports name Safestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75in?

306 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (98.7%) and injury (1.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fluid/blood leak (33%), activation problem (25.2%), material twisted/bent (20.6%), material deformation (5.9%) and fail-safe did not operate (4.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Safestep Huber Needle Set 22g X 0 75in was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.