Reported Reactions

Devices › Implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt)

Device brand name · Defibrillation lead

Riata St Active Fixation Lead: medical device reports filed with FDA

566 reports name it, 2006–2014. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Cardiac Rhythm Management Division. Product code LWS.

566
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 28 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
9.5%
classified as malfunction
37.4% across the product code
0.9%
classified as death, as reported
5 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 566 reports that name the brand "Riata St Active Fixation Lead" (defibrillation lead), received between May 2006 and January 2014; the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Cardiac Rhythm Management Division. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (89.4%), malfunction (9.5%) and death (0.9%); across all implantable cardioverter defibrillator (non-crt) reports (product code LWS) death is recorded in 2.7% and malfunction in 37.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are explanted (18.4%), dislodged (17.8%) and invalid sensing (16.8%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, perforation and failure of implant. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Riata St Active Fixation Lead was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in January 2014.

By year received

01152302006: 5420062007: 22320072008: 23020082014: 592014

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.9%5
Injury89.4%506
Malfunction9.5%54
Other0%0
Not given0.2%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%566
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 380,959 reports carrying product code LWS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Explanted10418.4%1.6%
Dislodged10117.8%0.7%
Invalid sensing9516.8%0.6%
High sensing threshold8615.2%0.8%
Over-sensing6912.2%21.1%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation6711.8%12.8%
Failure to capture5710.1%2.6%
Implant, repositioning of508.8%0.1%
Noise468.1%1.3%
Low impedance447.8%2.8%
High impedance315.5%15.6%
Device remains implanted234.1%0.2%
Intermittent capture234.1%0.2%
Low sensing threshold203.5%0.1%
Difficult to position132.3%0.3%
Failure to sense122.1%0.2%
Under-sensing122.1%3.1%
Lead(s), fracture of91.6%1.1%
Insulation degradation81.4%0.1%
Replace81.4%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure40771.9%
Perforation10618.7%
Failure of implant203.5%
Shock from patient lead(s)122.1%
Chest painchest pain101.8%
Muscle stimulation101.8%
Cardiac tamponade81.4%
Cardiac perforation61.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term61.1%
Painpain, site not specified50.9%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional50.9%
Twiddlers syndrome40.7%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain20.4%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)20.4%
Surgical procedure, delayed20.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureRiata St Active Fixation LeadProduct code LWSAll MAUDE reports
Reports566380,95926,136,888
Share of that pool—0.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports9279
Classified as injury89.4%59.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction9.5%37.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LWS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Sprint Quattro Secure S MRI SureScan36,8956,4361.4%
Emblem Mri S-Icd21,4803,0880.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure24,23725.2%
Emblem S-Icd17,2502,2370.1%
Sprint Fidelis17,00534014.1%
Sprint Quattro Secure S14,39802.4%
Endotak Reliance25,8972381.2%
Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan15,6061,9031.4%
Endotak Reliance G10,1151,0490.6%
Teligen16,537470.6%
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation9,6813015.6%
Sprint Quattro5,59102.6%
Reliance 4-Front9,8522,0240.4%
Sprint6,1311612.4%
Vitality 24,77901%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Riata St Active Fixation Lead reports

How many FDA reports name Riata St Active Fixation Lead?

566 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (89.4%), malfunction (9.5%) and death (0.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

explanted (18.4%), dislodged (17.8%), invalid sensing (16.8%), high sensing threshold (15.2%) and over-sensing (12.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Riata St Active Fixation Lead was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.