Reported Reactions

Devices › Tubes, gastrointestinal (and accessories)

Device brand name · Knt tubes gastrointestinal and accessories

Replacement Tube: medical device reports filed with FDA

183 reports name it, 2007–2014. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Abbott Nutrition. Product code KNT.

183
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 10 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
88.5%
classified as malfunction
47% across the product code
0.5%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

183 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Replacement Tube" (knt tubes gastrointestinal and accessories); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Abbott Nutrition; received from June 2007 to February 2014. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (88.5%), injury (10.9%) and death (0.5%); across all tubes, gastrointestinal (and accessories) reports (product code KNT) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 47%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material rupture (26.2%), balloon rupture (23%) and deflation problem (20.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, constipation and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Replacement Tube was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in February 2014.

By year received

024482007: 1520072008: 2720082009: 2320092010: 2920102011: 1920112012: 4820122013: 1820132014: 42014

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.5%1
Injury10.9%20
Malfunction88.5%162
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%183
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 26,205 reports carrying product code KNT. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material rupture4826.2%2%
Balloon rupture4223%0.9%
Deflation problem3820.8%2%
Port leak(s)1910.4%0.2%
Detachment of device component147.7%4.6%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly52.7%0.9%
Burst container or vessel42.2%1%
Component falling31.6%0.5%
Hole in material31.6%0.5%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)31.6%0.4%
Device dislodged or dislocated21.1%1.4%
Fluid/blood leak21.1%4.5%
Insufficient device problem information21.1%3.7%
Migration or expulsion of device21.1%1.9%
Balloon burst10.5%0.1%
Balloon leak(s)10.5%0.2%
Breakthe device broke10.5%7.5%
Deflation, cause unknown10.5%0.3%
Device, removal of (non-implant)10.5%1.2%
Inflation problem10.5%1.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified31.6%
Constipationconstipation21.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term21.1%
Diarrhea21.1%
Distress21.1%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding21.1%
Hospitalization required21.1%
Inflammationinflammation21.1%
Irritationirritation21.1%
No patient involvement21.1%
Abdominal distention10.5%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain10.5%
Burn(s)a burn10.5%
Cellulitisa skin infection10.5%
Discomfortdiscomfort10.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureReplacement TubeProduct code KNTAll MAUDE reports
Reports18326,20526,136,888
Share of that pool—0.7%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports5249
Classified as injury10.9%49%36.2%
Classified as malfunction88.5%47%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%91%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KNT

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Duodopa Duopa5,9254842%
Abbvie Peg1,63301.7%
Bard DigniShield Stool Management System750940.7%
Kangaroo4,3281170.2%
EndoVive Safety PEG Kit650230.8%
EndoVive Standard PEG Kit534152.1%
Corflo Cubby Low Profile Gastrostomy Device44000%
Tube Gastrointestinal And Access44801.1%
Endovive Jejunal Feeding Tube42200.2%
Endovive Initial Placement Peg Kit Direct Pej Kit And Peg Safety Kit33300.9%
Endovive Securi-T26400.4%
Abbvie J26306.8%
Endovive Two-Port Ttp Jejunal Feeding Tube Cap26201.5%
CORTRAK 2 Enteral Access System1903714.7%
Flexi-Seal Fms19501.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Replacement Tube reports

How many FDA reports name Replacement Tube?

183 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (88.5%), injury (10.9%) and death (0.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material rupture (26.2%), balloon rupture (23%), deflation problem (20.8%), port leak(s) (10.4%) and detachment of device component (7.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Replacement Tube was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.