Reported Reactions

Devices › Implant, dermal, for aesthetic use

Device brand name · Injectable implant

Radiesse Dermal Filler: medical device reports filed with FDA

596 reports name it, 2008–2016. Product code LMH.

596
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 32 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0.2%
classified as malfunction
7.2% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

596 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Radiesse Dermal Filler" (injectable implant); received from January 2008 to November 2016. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are other (58.2%), injury (41.3%) and malfunction (0.2%); across all implant, dermal, for aesthetic use reports (product code LMH) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 7.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (52.5%), patient-device incompatibility (16.3%) and device operates differently than expected (7.9%). The patient problems coded most often are swelling, erythema and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Radiesse Dermal Filler was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2016.

By year received

046912008: 5620082009: 5520092010: 5520102011: 9120112012: 8820122013: 8920132014: 7920142015: 6420152016: 192016

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury41.3%246
Malfunction0.2%1
Other58.2%347
Not given0.3%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.7%594
Voluntary report0.3%2
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 22,802 reports carrying product code LMH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information31352.5%10.2%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient9716.3%2.4%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly477.9%0.5%
Device remains implanted284.7%2.3%
Malposition of device122%0.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method91.5%7.5%
Migration or expulsion of device40.7%0.7%
Complete blockage20.3%0%
Positioning problem20.3%0%
Contamination of device ingredient or reagent10.2%0%
Device appears to trigger rejection10.2%0.2%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert10.2%0%
Disconnection10.2%0%
Human-device interface problem10.2%0%
Microbial contamination of device10.2%0%
Misplacement10.2%0%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked10.2%0%
Product quality problem10.2%0.1%
Replace10.2%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Swellingswelling29950.2%
Erythemaskin redness20434.2%
Painpain, site not specified19132%
Necrosisdeath of tissue9415.8%
Skin discoloration7712.9%
Edemaswelling from fluid7512.6%
Bruise/contusion7111.9%
Inflammationinflammation457.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified396.5%
Cellulitisa skin infection335.5%
Rashskin rash315.2%
Purulent discharge284.7%
Numbnessnumbness274.5%
Occlusion264.4%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction223.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureRadiesse Dermal FillerProduct code LMHAll MAUDE reports
Reports59622,80226,136,888
Share of that pool—2.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports019
Classified as injury41.3%83.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.2%7.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.7%95.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LMH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Sculptra1,593910%
Juvederm Voluma Xc/Lido Volume Unknown1,0471940.1%
Juvederm Voluma XC 27G 2 x 1mL901780%
Juvederm Ultra Xc Tsk Us68110%
Unk Volbella663700%
VOLBELLA with LIDOCAINE64150.2%
Juvederm VOLUMA WITH LIDOCAINE 1mL622230%
Juvederm Volume/Concentration/Additive Unknown502240.6%
Juvederm Ultra Plus Xc Tsk Us49550%
Zyplast Collagen Implant46600%
VOLIFT with LIDOCAINE458100%
Unk Juvederm Volux4451330%
Radiesse Injectable Implant44100%
JUVEDERM VOLLURE XC 2x1 mL427240.5%
Juvederm Voluma Volume/Additive Unknown426130%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Radiesse Dermal Filler reports

How many FDA reports name Radiesse Dermal Filler?

596 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

other (58.2%), injury (41.3%) and malfunction (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (52.5%), patient-device incompatibility (16.3%), device operates differently than expected (7.9%), device remains implanted (4.7%) and malposition of device (2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.7%) and voluntary reports (0.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Radiesse Dermal Filler was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.