Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented

Device brand name · Hip component

Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed: medical device reports filed with FDA

367 reports name it, 2010–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Wright Medical Technology. Product code LPH.

367
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 23 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0.3%
classified as malfunction
7.5% across the product code
0.3%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 367 reports that name the brand "Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed" (hip component), received between June 2010 and September 2018; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Wright Medical Technology. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (98.9%), death (0.3%) and malfunction (0.3%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented reports (product code LPH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 7.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (34.3%), corroded (3.5%) and metal shedding debris (2.5%). The patient problems coded most often are reaction, pain and toxicity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in September 2018.

By year received

0541082010: 2320102011: 2920112012: 6320122013: 10820132014: 6320142015: 4820152016: 1420162017: 1120172018: 82018

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.3%1
Injury98.9%363
Malfunction0.3%1
Other0%0
Not given0.5%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%367
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 90,251 reports carrying product code LPH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information12634.3%19.2%
Corrodedthe device corroded133.5%2.9%
Metal shedding debris92.5%1.3%
Loose or intermittent connection82.2%1.1%
Breakthe device broke71.9%1.6%
Detachment of device component51.4%0.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated51.4%17%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly51.4%0.6%
Fracturea broken bone51.4%4.4%
Noise, audible41.1%1.4%
Device slipped30.8%0.9%
Connection problema connection problem10.3%0%
Delamination10.3%0%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert10.3%1.2%
Grounding malfunction10.3%0%
Material too rigid or stiff10.3%0%
Naturally worn10.3%6.1%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10.3%0.2%
Unstable10.3%1.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Reactiona reaction, type not specified17146.6%
Painpain, site not specified5715.5%
Toxicity164.4%
Ambulation or postural difficulties92.5%
Bone fracture(s)71.9%
Foreign body reaction61.6%
Test result61.6%
Tissue damage61.6%
Osteolysis51.4%
Complaint, ill-defined41.1%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint30.8%
Necrosisdeath of tissue30.8%
Swellingswelling30.8%
Synovitis30.8%
Failure of implant20.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureProfemur R Z Stem Plasma SprayedProduct code LPHAll MAUDE reports
Reports36790,25126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports329
Classified as injury98.9%91.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.3%7.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LPH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Apex Hole Elim Positive Stop1,082200.4%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx25mm1,299320%
Unknown Hip Femoral Stem4,140790.8%
Unknown Hip Femoral Head5,0801760.7%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx20mm1,075190.3%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx30mm981220.3%
Altrx Neut 36idx52od638230%
UNK Hip Femoral Head Ceramic7201260.1%
Unknown Hip2,30651.9%
Trident 0 X3 Insert 36mm Id58500.2%
Altrx Neut 36idx54od553230%
Altrx Neut 32idx50od552210%
Altrx +4 10d 36idx52od544170.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed reports

How many FDA reports name Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed?

367 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (98.9%), death (0.3%) and malfunction (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (34.3%), corroded (3.5%), metal shedding debris (2.5%), loose or intermittent connection (2.2%) and break (1.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Profemur R Z Stem Plasma Sprayed was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.