Reported Reactions

Devices › Dorsal root ganglion stimulator for pain relief

Device brand name · Drg ipg

Proclaim Drg Ipg: medical device reports filed with FDA

178 reports name it, 2017–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical - Neuromodulation. Product code PMP.

178
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 20 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
15.7%
classified as malfunction
1.2% across the product code
0.6%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 178 reports that name the brand "Proclaim Drg Ipg" (drg ipg), received between August 2017 and December 2019; the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical - Neuromodulation. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (83.7%), malfunction (15.7%) and death (0.6%); across all dorsal root ganglion stimulator for pain relief reports (product code PMP) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 1.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are premature elective replacement indicator (11.8%), impedance problem (5.6%) and therapeutic or diagnostic output failure (5.6%). The patient problems coded most often are inadequate pain relief, pain and discomfort. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Proclaim Drg Ipg was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in December 2019.

By year received

0641282017: 720172018: 4320182019: 1282019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.6%1
Injury83.7%149
Malfunction15.7%28
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%178
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 19,915 reports carrying product code PMP. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Premature elective replacement indicator2111.8%0.3%
Impedance problem105.6%2.2%
Therapeutic or diagnostic output failure105.6%11.7%
Wireless communication problema wireless connection problem73.9%1.7%
Application program freezes or fails to launch42.2%0.1%
Disconnection42.2%0.9%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit31.7%0.1%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed31.7%23.3%
High impedance21.1%13.6%
No device output21.1%0.2%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used10.6%0.1%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation10.6%0.8%
Migration or expulsion of device10.6%0.2%
Premature discharge of battery10.6%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Inadequate pain relief4726.4%
Painpain, site not specified2715.2%
Discomfortdiscomfort2312.9%
Post operative wound infection137.3%
Device overstimulation of tissue84.5%
Impaired healingslow healing52.8%
Erosion31.7%
Falla fall31.7%
Erythemaskin redness21.1%
Failure of implant21.1%
Weight changes21.1%
Cellulitisa skin infection10.6%
Coma10.6%
Cramp(s)10.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureProclaim Drg IpgProduct code PMPAll MAUDE reports
Reports17819,91526,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports629
Classified as injury83.7%98.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction15.7%1.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code PMP

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Kit Implantable Slim Tip Lead, 50cm9,9591,4170.1%
50cm Implant Lead Kit Slim Tip2,71500.1%
Proclaim DRG Implantable Pulse Generator1,9313070.3%
Kit Implantable Slim Tip Lead, 90cm1,4251190.3%
90cm Implant Lead Kit Slim Tip70600.7%
Implantable Neurostimulator Kit42600%
50cm Trial Lead Kit Slim Tip32900.6%
Kit Trial Slim Tip Lead 50cm251172%
Axium2671413.1%
Implantable Neurostimulator6,3956920.3%
Infinity 7 Implantable Pulse Generator1,2581470.5%
SCS Lead163290%
Lead1,2341180.5%
Proclaim 5 Elite Implantable Pulse Generator20,8162,0570.1%
Cardiomems Patient Electronic System4,5937380%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Proclaim Drg Ipg reports

How many FDA reports name Proclaim Drg Ipg?

178 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (83.7%), malfunction (15.7%) and death (0.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

premature elective replacement indicator (11.8%), impedance problem (5.6%), therapeutic or diagnostic output failure (5.6%), wireless communication problem (3.9%) and application program freezes or fails to launch (2.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Proclaim Drg Ipg was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.