Reported Reactions

Devices › Mesh, surgical, polymeric

Device brand name · Mesh surgical

Physiomesh: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,607 reports name it, 2010–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon. Product code FTL.

2,607
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 166 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
13 in the 12 months before
0.4%
classified as malfunction
2.5% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

2,607 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Physiomesh" (mesh surgical); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon; received from October 2010 to May 2025. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, against 13 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.5%), malfunction (0.4%) and death (0.1%); across all mesh, surgical, polymeric reports (product code FTL) death is recorded in 0.5% and malfunction in 2.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (11.7%), tears, rips, holes in device, device material (1.9%) and reaction (0.3%). The patient problems coded most often are hernia, injury and pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

059Sep 2021: 8Oct 2021: 9Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 22022Jan 2022: 6Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 5May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 6Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 22023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 6Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 3Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

03737462010: 1220102011: 802012: 13220122013: 1092014: 3520142015: 302016: 3320162017: 2002018: 74620182019: 5292020: 46520202021: 1772022: 3720222023: 72024: 1020242025: 5

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%3
Injury99.5%2,593
Malfunction0.4%10
Other0%0
Not given0%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.6%2,597
Voluntary report0.3%9
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%1

Grey bar: all 170,304 reports carrying product code FTL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)30611.7%2.2%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material501.9%0.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified90.3%0.1%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed80.3%1.6%
Failure to adhere or bond70.3%0%
Migration or expulsion of device70.3%4%
Insufficient device problem information50.2%26.3%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging50.2%0.1%
Obstruction of flow40.2%0%
Material perforation30.1%0.2%
Entrapment of device20.1%0.3%
Hole in material20.1%0.1%
Material erosion20.1%5.4%
Unsealed device packaging20.1%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly10%1.2%
Implant extrusion10%0.3%
Material distortion10%0%
Material separation10%0.2%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10%7.2%
Torn material10%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hernia1,40053.7%
Injurya physical injury1,24647.8%
Painpain, site not specified95336.6%
Adhesion(s)95036.4%
Not applicable82831.8%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain34613.3%
Surgical procedure29211.2%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available1917.3%
Obstruction/occlusion1796.9%
Inflammationinflammation1566%
Nauseafeeling sick1194.6%
Scarring1064.1%
Discomfortdiscomfort903.5%
Abscessa collection of pus602.3%
Scar tissue441.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePhysiomeshProduct code FTLAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,607170,30426,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports159
Classified as injury99.5%96.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.4%2.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.6%97.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Bard Flat Mesh8,2991100.5%
PerFix Plug8,2561670.3%
Parietex6,3043201%
Ventralight ST Mesh5,8131060.5%
Obtryx System6,03110%
Ventralex ST5,3651010.4%
Tension Free Vaginal Tape9,35500.1%
Mesh Ventralex4,66150.4%
3DMax3,9711550.1%
ProGrip3,8204120.8%
Proceed Surg Mesh/Multi Lyr3,199290%
Mesh Sofradim - Parietex Composite Mesh2,946161.5%
Advantage? System3,537130%
Ventrio ST2,751510.7%
Symbotex2,7411901.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Physiomesh reports

How many FDA reports name Physiomesh?

2,607 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.5%), malfunction (0.4%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (11.7%), tears, rips, holes in device, device material (1.9%), reaction (0.3%), migration (0.3%) and failure to adhere or bond (0.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.6%) and voluntary reports (0.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Physiomesh was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.