Reported Reactions

Devices › Accessories, soft lens products

Device brand name · Accessories soft lens products

Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,845 reports name it, 2016–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Bausch & Lomb. Product code LPN.

2,845
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 292 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
97.9%
classified as malfunction
40.3% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 2,845 reports that name the brand "Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution" (accessories soft lens products), received between October 2016 and October 2018; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Bausch & Lomb. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (97.9%) and injury (2%); across all accessories, soft lens products reports (product code LPN) death is recorded in 0% and malfunction in 40.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are product quality problem (99.6%), nonstandard device (0%) and patient-device incompatibility (0%). The patient problems coded most often are burning sensation, red eye(s) and irritation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in October 2018.

By year received

01,2582,5152016: 32020162017: 2,51520172018: 102018

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury2%57
Malfunction97.9%2,786
Other0%0
Not given0.1%2

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%2,845
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 8,035 reports carrying product code LPN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Product quality problem2,83399.6%36.1%
Nonstandard device10%3.5%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10%0.9%
Pumping stopped10%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Burning sensationa burning feeling2,51088.2%
Red eye(s)33111.6%
Irritationirritation2187.7%
Painpain, site not specified1605.6%
Discomfortdiscomfort983.4%
Excessive tear production913.2%
Conjunctivitispink eye391.4%
Itching sensation391.4%
Blurred vision371.3%
Keratitis351.2%
Dry eye(s)341.2%
Eye burn321.1%
Swellingswelling250.9%
Inflammationinflammation180.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified170.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasurePeroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide SolutionProduct code LPNAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,8458,03526,136,888
Share of that pool—35.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports009
Classified as injury2%50.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction97.9%40.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%69.5%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LPN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Opti-Free Replenish32400%
Renu With Moistureloc Multi-Purpose Solution38700%
Clear Care26400%
Renu With Moisture Loc20100%
Complete Moisture Plus18800%
Amo Complete Moisture Plus17400%
Renu Multiplus Multi-Purpose Solution16100%
Allergan Cup17400%
Acuvue Oasys719270%
ISPAN Perfluoropropane (C3F8 gas)215350%
Alcon18020%
Focus Night & Day21500%
Totalcare6,66100%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution reports

How many FDA reports name Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution?

2,845 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (97.9%) and injury (2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

product quality problem (99.6%), nonstandard device (0%), patient-device incompatibility (0%) and pumping stopped (0%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Peroxiclear Hydrogen Peroxide Solution was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.