Devices › Catheter, peripheral, atherectomy
Device brand name · Catheter peripheral atherectomy
Peripheral Rotalink Plus: medical device reports filed with FDA
158 reports name it, 2014–2025. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific. Product code MCW.
- 158
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 13 a year
- 1
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 4 in the 12 months before
- 74.7%
- classified as malfunction
- 55.6% across the product code
- 1.9%
- classified as death, as reported
- 3 reports · not verified by FDA
FDA's MAUDE database holds 158 reports that name the brand "Peripheral Rotalink Plus" (catheter peripheral atherectomy), received between March 2014 and October 2025; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.
1 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 75% from 4 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (74.7%), injury (23.4%) and death (1.9%); across all catheter, peripheral, atherectomy reports (product code MCW) death is recorded in 1.8% and malfunction in 55.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are entrapment of device (36.1%), device damaged by another device (11.4%) and detachment of device or device component (7%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, pain and intimal dissection. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 8,514 reports carrying product code MCW. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entrapment of device | 57 | 36.1% | 12.2% |
| Device damaged by another device | 18 | 11.4% | 1.8% |
| Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off | 11 | 7% | 13.2% |
| Breakthe device broke | 8 | 5.1% | 15.6% |
| Detachment of device component | 7 | 4.4% | 2.3% |
| Output problem | 4 | 2.5% | 0.1% |
| Fracturea broken bone | 3 | 1.9% | 2.8% |
| Intermittent loss of power | 3 | 1.9% | 0.2% |
| Mechanical problema mechanical problem | 3 | 1.9% | 3.1% |
| Contamination | 2 | 1.3% | 0.1% |
| Device contamination with chemical or other material | 2 | 1.3% | 0.4% |
| Device packaging compromised | 2 | 1.3% | 0% |
| Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove | 2 | 1.3% | 7.1% |
| Device contamination with body fluid | 1 | 0.6% | 0% |
| Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly | 1 | 0.6% | 1.5% |
| Difficult to advance | 1 | 0.6% | 2% |
| Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert | 1 | 0.6% | 0.6% |
| Failure to advance | 1 | 0.6% | 1.8% |
| Fluid/blood leak | 1 | 0.6% | 0.4% |
| Infusion or flow problema problem with flow or infusion | 1 | 0.6% | 0.4% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| No patient involvement | 11 | 7% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 4 | 2.5% |
| Intimal dissection | 3 | 1.9% |
| Perforation of vessels | 3 | 1.9% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 2 | 1.3% |
| Device embedded in tissue or plaque | 2 | 1.3% |
| Discomfortdiscomfort | 1 | 0.6% |
| Injurya physical injury | 1 | 0.6% |
| Intraoperative pain | 1 | 0.6% |
| Thrombosis | 1 | 0.6% |
| Vascular dissection | 1 | 0.6% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | Peripheral Rotalink Plus | Product code MCW | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 158 | 8,514 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 1.9% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 19 | 18 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 23.4% | 40.9% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 74.7% | 55.6% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 100% | 96.1% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code MCW
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rotarex | 1,340 | 373 | 0.7% |
| JETSTREAM XC Atherectomy Catheter | 741 | 71 | 0.3% |
| Diamondback 360 Peripheral Orbital Atherectomy System | 676 | 0 | 0.9% |
| Jetstream Xc | 590 | 44 | 0% |
| Hawkone 6fr | 566 | 30 | 0% |
| Diamondback 360 Orbital Atherectomy System | 241 | 0 | 3.3% |
| JETSTREAM Atherectomy Catheter | 151 | 32 | 0.7% |
| Crosser Recanalization Catheter | 159 | 0 | 1.3% |
| Rotalink Catheter | 154 | 0 | 13% |
| Diamondback 360 Coronary Orbital Atherectomy System | 1,512 | 0 | 15.7% |
| Crosser Cto Recanalization Catheter | 362 | 0 | 0.3% |
| Fogarty Arterial Embolectomy Catheter | 1,165 | 37 | 0.2% |
| Rotablator Guide Wire | 352 | 0 | 3.7% |
| Crosser Cto Recanalization Catheters | 223 | 0 | 0% |
| Datascope | 356 | 0 | 7.3% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about Peripheral Rotalink Plus reports
How many FDA reports name Peripheral Rotalink Plus?
158 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 1 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
malfunction (74.7%), injury (23.4%) and death (1.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
entrapment of device (36.1%), device damaged by another device (11.4%), detachment of device or device component (7%), break (5.1%) and detachment of device component (4.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that Peripheral Rotalink Plus was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.