Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented

Device brand name · Prosthesis hip semi-constrained

OMNI Hip System: medical device reports filed with FDA

269 reports name it, 2015–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Omnilife Science. Product code LPH.

269
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 25 a year
5
reports, 12 months to August 2026
3 in the 12 months before
3%
classified as malfunction
7.5% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

269 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "OMNI Hip System" (prosthesis hip semi-constrained); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Omnilife Science; received from September 2015 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

5 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (97%) and malfunction (3%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented reports (product code LPH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 7.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (36.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (6.7%) and fracture (5.9%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, joint dislocation and reaction. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

035Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 5Nov 2021: 4Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

034672015: 1420152016: 202017: 2920172018: 672019: 4820192020: 452021: 2320212022: 122024: 320242025: 42026: 42026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury97%261
Malfunction3%8
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.6%268
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0.4%1
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 90,251 reports carrying product code LPH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information9736.1%19.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated186.7%17%
Fracturea broken bone165.9%4.4%
Metal shedding debris83%1.3%
Breakthe device broke72.6%1.6%
Unstable72.6%1.1%
Loose or intermittent connection51.9%1.1%
Device slipped41.5%0.9%
Naturally worn41.5%6.1%
Nonstandard device31.1%0.1%
Contamination20.7%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.7%0.6%
Infusion or flow problema problem with flow or infusion20.7%0%
Material fragmentation20.7%0.1%
Packaging problem20.7%0.5%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient20.7%0.2%
Connection problema connection problem10.4%0%
Corrodedthe device corroded10.4%2.9%
Device expiration issue10.4%0%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove10.4%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified6223%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint3312.3%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified134.8%
Bone fracture(s)114.1%
Failure of implant114.1%
Falla fall103.7%
Hip fracturea broken hip103.7%
Autoimmune reaction41.5%
Metal related pathology41.5%
Osteolysis41.5%
Toxicity41.5%
Joint disorder31.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient20.7%
Joint laxity20.7%
Arthritis10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureOMNI Hip SystemProduct code LPHAll MAUDE reports
Reports26990,25126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury97%91.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction3%7.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.6%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LPH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Apex Hole Elim Positive Stop1,082200.4%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx25mm1,299320%
Unknown Hip Femoral Stem4,140790.8%
Unknown Hip Femoral Head5,0801760.7%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx20mm1,075190.3%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx30mm981220.3%
Altrx Neut 36idx52od638230%
UNK Hip Femoral Head Ceramic7201260.1%
Unknown Hip2,30651.9%
Trident 0 X3 Insert 36mm Id58500.2%
Altrx Neut 36idx54od553230%
Altrx Neut 32idx50od552210%
Altrx +4 10d 36idx52od544170.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about OMNI Hip System reports

How many FDA reports name OMNI Hip System?

269 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 5 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (97%) and malfunction (3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (36.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (6.7%), fracture (5.9%), metal shedding debris (3%) and break (2.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.6%) and distributor reports (0.4%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that OMNI Hip System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.