Reported Reactions

Devices › Mesh, surgical, polymeric

Device brand name · Surgical mesh

Mesh - Composix L/P: medical device reports filed with FDA

238 reports name it, 2009–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Davol Sub C R Bard. Product code FTL.

238
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 14 a year
15
reports, 12 months to August 2026
6 in the 12 months before
1.7%
classified as malfunction
2.5% across the product code
1.7%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

238 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Mesh - Composix L/P" (surgical mesh); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Davol Sub C R Bard; received from May 2009 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

15 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 150% from 6 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (96.2%), death (1.7%) and malfunction (1.7%); across all mesh, surgical, polymeric reports (product code FTL) death is recorded in 0.5% and malfunction in 2.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are defective device (60.1%), insufficient device problem information (56.7%) and patient-device incompatibility (18.1%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, hernia and adhesion(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 3Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 2Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

031622009: 520092010: 212011: 1320112012: 42013: 920132014: 62016: 320162017: 42018: 1320182019: 502020: 6220202021: 162022: 720222023: 42025: 1120252026: 10

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.7%4
Injury96.2%229
Malfunction1.7%4
Other0.4%1
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%238
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,304 reports carrying product code FTL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Defective devicethe device was defective14360.1%34.3%
Insufficient device problem information13556.7%26.3%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient4318.1%7.2%
Patient device interaction problem2410.1%18.9%
Material deformation125%2.3%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed114.6%1.6%
Entrapment of device52.1%0.3%
Material disintegration41.7%0.1%
Material erosion31.3%5.4%
Detachment of device component20.8%0.4%
Device appears to trigger rejection20.8%0.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated20.8%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.8%1.2%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.4%0.3%
Hole in material10.4%0.1%
Malposition of device10.4%0.1%
Material too rigid or stiff10.4%0%
Microbial contamination of device10.4%0.1%
Sticking10.4%0.1%
Torn material10.4%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury12251.3%
Hernia5723.9%
Adhesion(s)5523.1%
Painpain, site not specified4318.1%
Disability4217.6%
Scar tissue125%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain114.6%
Abscessa collection of pus104.2%
Obstruction/occlusion83.4%
Inflammationinflammation62.5%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection31.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.3%
Purulent discharge31.3%
Fistula20.8%
Bowel perforation10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureMesh - Composix L/PProduct code FTLAll MAUDE reports
Reports238170,30426,136,888
Share of that pool—0.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports1759
Classified as injury96.2%96.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1.7%2.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Bard Flat Mesh8,2991100.5%
PerFix Plug8,2561670.3%
Parietex6,3043201%
Ventralight ST Mesh5,8131060.5%
Obtryx System6,03110%
Ventralex ST5,3651010.4%
Tension Free Vaginal Tape9,35500.1%
Mesh Ventralex4,66150.4%
3DMax3,9711550.1%
ProGrip3,8204120.8%
Proceed Surg Mesh/Multi Lyr3,199290%
Mesh Sofradim - Parietex Composite Mesh2,946161.5%
Advantage? System3,537130%
Ventrio ST2,751510.7%
Symbotex2,7411901.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Mesh - Composix L/P reports

How many FDA reports name Mesh - Composix L/P?

238 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 15 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (96.2%), death (1.7%) and malfunction (1.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

defective device (60.1%), insufficient device problem information (56.7%), patient-device incompatibility (18.1%), patient device interaction problem (10.1%) and material deformation (5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Mesh - Composix L/P was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.