Reported Reactions

Devices › Mesh, surgical, polymeric

Device brand name · Surgical mesh

Mesh - Composix Kugel: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,682 reports name it, 2004–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Davol Sub C R Bard. Product code FTL.

2,682
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 121 a year
42
reports, 12 months to August 2026
7 in the 12 months before
0.4%
classified as malfunction
2.5% across the product code
3.5%
classified as death, as reported
94 reports · not verified by FDA

2,682 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Mesh - Composix Kugel" (surgical mesh); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Davol Sub C R Bard; received from April 2004 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

42 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 500% from 7 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (90.2%), other (5.7%) and death (3.5%); across all mesh, surgical, polymeric reports (product code FTL) death is recorded in 0.5% and malfunction in 2.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are defective device (50.1%), insufficient device problem information (36.8%) and explanted (15%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, injury and disability. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

048Sep 2021: 6Oct 2021: 4Nov 2021: 6Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 5Mar 2022: 5Apr 2022: 7May 2022: 4Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 4Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 3Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 5Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 5Apr 2026: 8May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 6Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02525042004: 820042005: 52006: 502007: 50420072008: 2612009: 1342010: 13420102011: 2032012: 2162013: 8220132014: 412015: 502016: 4620162017: 792018: 2572019: 21020192020: 2272021: 952022: 2520222023: 62025: 172026: 322026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.5%94
Injury90.2%2,418
Malfunction0.4%12
Other5.7%152
Not given0.2%6

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%2,682
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,304 reports carrying product code FTL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Defective devicethe device was defective1,34350.1%34.3%
Insufficient device problem information98736.8%26.3%
Explanted40115%1.6%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient2569.5%7.2%
Patient device interaction problem2529.4%18.9%
Device remains implanted2188.1%0.8%
Material deformation1836.8%2.3%
Entrapment of device1124.2%0.3%
Nonstandard device1114.1%0.2%
Breakthe device broke1023.8%0.4%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed853.2%1.6%
Folded833.1%0.2%
Migration or expulsion of device813%4%
Component(s), broken521.9%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly521.9%1.2%
Replace401.5%0.3%
Extrusion281%0.8%
Fracturea broken bone220.8%0%
Implant, removal of210.8%0.2%
Device issuea problem with the device170.6%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified1,39051.8%
Injurya physical injury82330.7%
Disability73927.6%
Adhesion(s)71126.5%
Hernia54120.2%
Surgical procedure37714.1%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain34412.8%
Obstruction/occlusion2228.3%
Abscessa collection of pus1907.1%
Fistula1897%
Hospitalization required1023.8%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term883.3%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional843.1%
Bowel perforation772.9%
Scar tissue772.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureMesh - Composix KugelProduct code FTLAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,682170,30426,136,888
Share of that pool—1.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports3559
Classified as injury90.2%96.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.4%2.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Bard Flat Mesh8,2991100.5%
PerFix Plug8,2561670.3%
Parietex6,3043201%
Ventralight ST Mesh5,8131060.5%
Obtryx System6,03110%
Ventralex ST5,3651010.4%
Tension Free Vaginal Tape9,35500.1%
Mesh Ventralex4,66150.4%
3DMax3,9711550.1%
ProGrip3,8204120.8%
Proceed Surg Mesh/Multi Lyr3,199290%
Mesh Sofradim - Parietex Composite Mesh2,946161.5%
Advantage? System3,537130%
Ventrio ST2,751510.7%
Symbotex2,7411901.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Mesh - Composix Kugel reports

How many FDA reports name Mesh - Composix Kugel?

2,682 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 42 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (90.2%), other (5.7%) and death (3.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

defective device (50.1%), insufficient device problem information (36.8%), explanted (15%), patient-device incompatibility (9.5%) and patient device interaction problem (9.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Mesh - Composix Kugel was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.