Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, breast, inflatable, internal, saline

Device brand name · Breast implant

Mcghan: medical device reports filed with FDA

468 reports name it, 1994–2018. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Mcghan Medical. Product code FWM.

468
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 15 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
26.7%
classified as malfunction
2.3% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 468 reports that name the brand "Mcghan" (breast implant), received between July 1994 and November 2018; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Mcghan Medical. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (55.3%), malfunction (26.7%) and other (12.8%); across all prosthesis, breast, inflatable, internal, saline reports (product code FWM) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 2.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are explanted (60.3%), replace (29.1%) and implant, removal of (19.9%). The patient problems coded most often are surgical procedure, surgical procedure, repeated and capsular contracture. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Mcghan was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2018.

By year received

030591994: 719941995: 141996: 141997: 5919971998: 401999: 212000: 4820002001: 342002: 492003: 5220032004: 332005: 232006: 1820062007: 112008: 102009: 520092010: 52012: 102014: 420142015: 32016: 52018: 32018

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury55.3%259
Malfunction26.7%125
Other12.8%60
Not given5.1%24

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report0%0
Voluntary report39.5%185
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given60.5%283

Grey bar: all 118,312 reports carrying product code FWM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Explanted28260.3%5.7%
Replace13629.1%2.4%
Implant, removal of9319.9%0.7%
Rupture, cause unknown6914.7%0.8%
Deflation, cause unknown6113%4%
Material rupture398.3%31.3%
Leak/splashthe device leaked286%0.4%
Fluid/blood leak183.8%36.8%
Device issuea problem with the device163.4%0.2%
Elective replacement122.6%0.1%
Gel leak102.1%0.1%
Deflation problem71.5%1.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)71.5%0.1%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified61.3%0.1%
Defective devicethe device was defective51.1%0.1%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient51.1%0%
Migration or expulsion of device51.1%0.2%
Device remains implanted40.9%0.2%
Implant extrusion40.9%0.1%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material40.9%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Surgical procedure17337%
Surgical procedure, repeated15432.9%
Capsular contracturescar tissue tightening around an implant12226.1%
Painpain, site not specified5712.2%
Hospitalization required357.5%
Failure of implant326.8%
Rupturethe device burst255.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)245.1%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional245.1%
Fatiguetiredness234.9%
Disability214.5%
Arthralgiajoint pain204.3%
Myalgiamuscle pain204.3%
Memory loss/impairment183.8%
Headachehead pain163.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureMcghanProduct code FWMAll MAUDE reports
Reports468118,31226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports019
Classified as injury55.3%95.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction26.7%2.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer0%92.9%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FWM

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Style 68 Saline Filled Breast Implant36,3363,0640%
MENTOR Smooth Round Moderate Profile16,2631,0820%
UNK Mammary Implant14,4251,8870.2%
MENTOR Smooth Round Moderate Plus Profile6,5625350%
UNK Saline Implant6,3366710%
Unknown Saline Implants5,8972920%
MENTOR Smooth Round High Profile4,4323370%
Style 168 Saline Filled Breast Implant3,9173180.1%
Style 468 Saline Filled Breast Implant2,3911760.1%
MENTOR SILTEX Round Moderate Profile2,325850%
Ideal Implant Structured Breast Implant1,54700%
Pip Inc1,29500%
Unknown Saline Implants Smooth999980%
Hutchison98700.1%
MENTOR Smooth Round SPECTRUM901520%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Mcghan reports

How many FDA reports name Mcghan?

468 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (55.3%), malfunction (26.7%) and other (12.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

explanted (60.3%), replace (29.1%), implant, removal of (19.9%), rupture, cause unknown (14.7%) and deflation, cause unknown (13%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

voluntary reports (39.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Mcghan was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.