Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component)

Device brand name · Prosthesis hip

M2a 38mm Mod Hd Std Nk: medical device reports filed with FDA

308 reports name it, 2012–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Biomet Orthopedics. Product code KWA.

308
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 21 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0%
classified as malfunction
3.4% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 308 reports that name the brand "M2a 38mm Mod Hd Std Nk" (prosthesis hip), received between February 2012 and November 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Biomet Orthopedics. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (100%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component) reports (product code KWA) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 3.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (37.3%), metal shedding debris (14.9%) and material erosion (10.7%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, toxicity and tissue damage. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0501002012: 2220122013: 6720132014: 10020142015: 5720152016: 1820162017: 1020172018: 1420182019: 1120192020: 320202022: 62022

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury100%308
Malfunction0%0
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%308
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 138,213 reports carrying product code KWA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information11537.3%52%
Metal shedding debris4614.9%7.6%
Material erosion3310.7%1.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated175.5%5.2%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly175.5%1%
Loose or intermittent connection123.9%1.2%
Noise, audible123.9%3.2%
Corrodedthe device corroded113.6%2%
Device slipped92.9%1.1%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient82.6%0.4%
Naturally worn72.3%6.7%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem61.9%0.2%
Migration or expulsion of device51.6%1%
Fracturea broken bone41.3%1.3%
Malposition of device41.3%1.4%
Unstable31%0.3%
Compatibility problem20.6%0.1%
Material protrusion/extrusion20.6%0%
Calcified10.3%0%
Failure to osseointegrate10.3%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified14547.1%
Toxicity12039%
Tissue damage6119.8%
Loss of range of motion5116.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified4815.6%
Inflammationinflammation3712%
Swellingswelling3511.4%
Discomfortdiscomfort3310.7%
Injurya physical injury3310.7%
Ambulation or postural difficulties268.4%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint268.4%
Osteolysis134.2%
Test result123.9%
Necrosisdeath of tissue82.6%
Foreign body reaction72.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureM2a 38mm Mod Hd Std NkProduct code KWAAll MAUDE reports
Reports308138,21326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports039
Classified as injury100%94.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0%3.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KWA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx52od3,720130.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx54od2,874110.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 522,42820.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 462,50020.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 542,35000.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 472,42300.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 562,20600.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 492,27800.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 502,05600.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 452,11900.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx50od2,06690%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Durom Acetabular Component2,07100.1%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Unknown Depuy Asr Acetabular Cup1,93300.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about M2a 38mm Mod Hd Std Nk reports

How many FDA reports name M2a 38mm Mod Hd Std Nk?

308 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (100%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (37.3%), metal shedding debris (14.9%), material erosion (10.7%), device dislodged or dislocated (5.5%) and device operates differently than expected (5.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that M2a 38mm Mod Hd Std Nk was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.