Reported Reactions

Devices › Plate, fixation, bone

Device brand name · Plate

Level One Thoracic: medical device reports filed with FDA

265 reports name it, 2016–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Karl Leibinger Medizintechnik & Kg. Product code HRS.

265
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 26 a year
7
reports, 12 months to August 2026
12 in the 12 months before
9.1%
classified as malfunction
22.8% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

265 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Level One Thoracic" (plate); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Karl Leibinger Medizintechnik & Kg; received from May 2016 to July 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 42% from 12 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (90.9%) and malfunction (9.1%); across all plate, fixation, bone reports (product code HRS) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 22.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (42.3%), osseointegration problem (14%) and fracture (9.1%). The patient problems coded most often are impaired healing, pain and inadequate osseointegration. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

047Sep 2021: 3Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 72022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 3Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 4Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 3Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 4Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 1Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 1Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 12026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 1Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

031622016: 520162017: 252018: 5420182019: 622020: 4220202021: 262022: 2120222023: 72024: 720242025: 112026: 52026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury90.9%241
Malfunction9.1%24
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.6%264
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.4%1

Grey bar: all 38,974 reports carrying product code HRS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke11242.3%24.2%
Osseointegration problem3714%0.2%
Fracturea broken bone249.1%7.5%
Device dislodged or dislocated51.9%1.8%
Failure to osseointegrate51.9%0.2%
Material deformation51.9%0.7%
Loss of osseointegration31.1%0.1%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label20.8%0.2%
Off-label use20.8%0.2%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size10.4%0.3%
Insufficient device problem information10.4%4.5%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient10.4%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Impaired healingslow healing14655.1%
Painpain, site not specified249.1%
Inadequate osseointegration228.3%
Nonunion/delayed-union bone fracture124.5%
Discomfortdiscomfort41.5%
Failure of implant41.5%
Dementiadementia20.8%
No patient involvement20.8%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.4%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque10.4%
Seizures10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureLevel One ThoracicProduct code HRSAll MAUDE reports
Reports26538,97426,136,888
Share of that pool—0.7%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury90.9%75.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction9.1%22.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.6%97.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code HRS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
UNK - Constructs: Plate/Screws85090%
Unk - Plates49400%
Unk - Plates Trauma254340%
Synthes47000.6%
Unk - Plates Spine17800%
Ni32,9391,5871.8%
Level One Cmf546320%
Unknown Screw1,2221560%
Baby Gorilla/Gorilla Plating System17480%
Unknown Osteosynthesis Product19800%
1.5mm Hex Driver Tip, Locking Groove5803320%
Unk Screw195630%
Unknown_Fro_Product19270%
3 5mm Cortex Screw Self-Tapping 14mm15400%
ATLANTIS Anterior Cervical Plate System565181.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Level One Thoracic reports

How many FDA reports name Level One Thoracic?

265 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 7 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (90.9%) and malfunction (9.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (42.3%), osseointegration problem (14%), fracture (9.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (1.9%) and failure to osseointegrate (1.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.6%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Level One Thoracic was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.