Reported Reactions

Devices › Stimulator, autonomic nerve, implanted for epilepsy

Device brand name · Lead

Lead Model Unk: medical device reports filed with FDA

309 reports name it, 2007–2021. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Cyberonics. Product code LYJ.

309
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
80.6%
classified as malfunction
58.7% across the product code
0.3%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

309 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Lead Model Unk" (lead); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Cyberonics; received from March 2007 to December 2021. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (80.6%), injury (18.8%) and death (0.3%); across all stimulator, autonomic nerve, implanted for epilepsy reports (product code LYJ) death is recorded in 5.6% and malfunction in 58.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are high impedance (47.9%), fracture (8.7%) and insufficient device problem information (7.8%). The patient problems coded most often are therapeutic response, decreased, paralysis and seizures. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

011Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

036712007: 520072008: 182009: 3820092010: 562011: 3120112012: 252013: 7120132014: 62015: 520152016: 62017: 1120172018: 112019: 1720192020: 52021: 42021

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.3%1
Injury18.8%58
Malfunction80.6%249
Other0%0
Not given0.3%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%309
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 52,004 reports carrying product code LYJ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
High impedance14847.9%18.1%
Fracturea broken bone278.7%8.4%
Insufficient device problem information247.8%9%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly175.5%4.5%
Breakthe device broke134.2%1.9%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used72.3%1.5%
Device remains implanted41.3%4.9%
Lead(s), fracture of41.3%0.3%
Disconnection31%0.6%
Extrusion31%0.3%
Malposition of device31%0.3%
Migration or expulsion of device31%1.1%
Battery problema problem with the battery20.6%3.4%
Corrodedthe device corroded20.6%0.8%
Device contamination with body fluid20.6%0.8%
Device slipped20.6%0.2%
Explanted20.6%4.6%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method20.6%0.8%
Lead(s), breakage of20.6%0.6%
Low impedance20.6%1.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Therapeutic response, decreased206.5%
Paralysis165.2%
Seizures154.9%
Painpain, site not specified82.6%
Dysphasia61.9%
Dysphagia/ odynophagia41.3%
Nerve damage41.3%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional41.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31%
Discomfortdiscomfort31%
Failure of implant31%
Falla fall31%
Paresis31%
Undesired nerve stimulation31%
Aspiration/inhalation20.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureLead Model UnkProduct code LYJAll MAUDE reports
Reports30952,00426,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports3569
Classified as injury18.8%35.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction80.6%58.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.5%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LYJ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Programming Software7,45310%
Lead Model 3027,2591360%
Pulse Gen Model 1025,9031412.2%
Pulse Gen Model 1034,518348.5%
Pulse Gen Model 1064,0231445.1%
Pulse Gen Model 10003,6015495.7%
Lead Model 3043,3292720.1%
Bipol Lead Model 3001,955120.1%
Pulse Gen Model Unk1,914713.6%
Ncp Pulse Generator1,272030%
Lead Model Unknown1,253461.6%
Pulse Gen Model 1011,210012.6%
Pulse Gen Model 1051,19176.7%
Vns Therapy Pulse1,064010.7%
Pulse Gen Model 102r985010.9%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Lead Model Unk reports

How many FDA reports name Lead Model Unk?

309 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (80.6%), injury (18.8%) and death (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

high impedance (47.9%), fracture (8.7%), insufficient device problem information (7.8%), device operates differently than expected (5.5%) and break (4.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Lead Model Unk was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.