Reported Reactions

Devices › Test, time, prothrombin

Device brand name · Prothrombin time test

Inratio2: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,959 reports name it, 2009–2014. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Alere San Diego. Product code GJS.

1,959
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 112 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
83.1%
classified as malfunction
92.3% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 1,959 reports that name the brand "Inratio2" (prothrombin time test), received between January 2009 and May 2014; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Alere San Diego. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (83.1%), injury (12.6%) and other (4.1%); across all test, time, prothrombin reports (product code GJS) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 92.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are incorrect or inadequate test results (42.1%), high test results (27%) and low test results (26.8%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, bruise/contusion and test result. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Inratio2 was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in May 2014.

By year received

02995982009: 11820092010: 46120102011: 59820112012: 45220122013: 28320132014: 472014

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%4
Injury12.6%246
Malfunction83.1%1,628
Other4.1%80
Not given0.1%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%1,958
Voluntary report0.1%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 26,556 reports carrying product code GJS. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Incorrect or inadequate test results82542.1%23%
High test results52927%32.6%
Low test results52526.8%12.9%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method452.3%1.1%
Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings392%23.2%
Device displays incorrect message341.7%0.6%
Imprecision160.8%0.3%
Insufficient device problem information80.4%0.2%
Human-device interface problem30.2%0.1%
Melted30.2%0%
Device emits odor20.1%0%
Failure to power up20.1%0%
Low battery20.1%0%
Charred10.1%0%
Detachment of device component10.1%0%
Device expiration issue10.1%0.1%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label10.1%0%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly10.1%0.1%
Difficult to advance10.1%0%
Display difficult to read10.1%0.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding924.7%
Bruise/contusion583%
Test result442.2%
Hematuria150.8%
Anemialow red blood cells70.4%
Thrombus70.4%
Dyspneashortness of breath60.3%
Pneumonialung infection60.3%
Swellingswelling60.3%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term50.3%
Stroke/cva50.3%
Venipuncture50.3%
Falla fall40.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue40.2%
Painpain, site not specified40.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureInratio2Product code GJSAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,95926,55626,136,888
Share of that pool—7.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports229
Classified as injury12.6%6.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction83.1%92.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%99.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GJS

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Coaguchek Xs System14,94520.1%
Inratio7,45200.1%
Inratio Pt/Inr Test Strips1,57600.8%
CoaguChek XS PT Test PST474120%
Coaguchek Xs Pt Test34120.3%
Protime Microcoagulation System75000.5%
I-Stat Pt/Inr Cartridge33000%
Dade Innovin19150%
Coaguchek S System2,67400%
Inratio Pt/Inr Test Strip16601.8%
Coaguchek Pt Test Strips92300.1%
Triage Cardiac Profiler Kit16800%
Accu-Chek Aviva Test Strips11,07300%
Triage Cardiac Panel 25 Test23301.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Inratio2 reports

How many FDA reports name Inratio2?

1,959 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (83.1%), injury (12.6%) and other (4.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

incorrect or inadequate test results (42.1%), high test results (27%), low test results (26.8%), improper or incorrect procedure or method (2.3%) and incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings (2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%) and voluntary reports (0.1%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Inratio2 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.