Reported Reactions

Devices › Bed, ac-powered adjustable hospital

Device brand name · Hospital bed a-c powered adjustable

In Touch Zx: medical device reports filed with FDA

460 reports name it, 2007–2020. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Stryker Medical Quebec. Product code FNL.

460
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 24 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
89.3%
classified as malfunction
95.5% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 460 reports that name the brand "In Touch Zx" (hospital bed a-c powered adjustable), received between September 2007 and July 2020; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Stryker Medical Quebec. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (89.3%), other (8.3%) and death (0.2%); across all bed, ac-powered adjustable hospital reports (product code FNL) death is recorded in 0.7% and malfunction in 95.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device displays incorrect message (27.4%), sticking (12.4%) and break (10.9%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, injury and bone fracture(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming In Touch Zx was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in July 2020.

By year received

0651292007: 1020072008: 1292009: 4420092010: 212011: 10420112012: 552013: 6020132014: 162018: 720182019: 82020: 62020

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%1
Injury0.2%1
Malfunction89.3%411
Other8.3%38
Not given2%9

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%460
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 94,202 reports carrying product code FNL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device displays incorrect message12627.4%0.6%
Sticking5712.4%9.7%
Breakthe device broke5010.9%9.4%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly398.5%5.5%
Material frayed347.4%0.4%
Device slipped265.7%16.6%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used183.9%5.1%
Bent132.8%1.5%
Device stops intermittentlythe device stopped now and then81.7%0.5%
Calibration problem71.5%0.5%
Cut in material71.5%0.6%
Display or visual feedback problem71.5%0.3%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem61.3%2.8%
Device alarm system51.1%8.2%
False reading from device non-compliance51.1%1.9%
Unintended system motionthe device moved when it should not have51.1%5.3%
Detachment of device component40.9%1.4%
Failure to calibrate40.9%0%
Failure to power up40.9%0.8%
Grounding malfunction40.9%2.7%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement439.3%
Injurya physical injury20.4%
Bone fracture(s)10.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%
Painpain, site not specified10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureIn Touch ZxProduct code FNLAll MAUDE reports
Reports46094,20226,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports279
Classified as injury0.2%2%36.2%
Classified as malfunction89.3%95.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.6%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FNL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Totalcare6,66100%
Versacare Bed4,72500.2%
TotalCare Bed4,1382740%
Versacare3,30300.1%
Secure 3 Med/Surg Bed2,48400.1%
Versacare Frame2,37200.2%
In Touch Zu2,34200.1%
Centra Bed2,21400.1%
Advanta Bed2,18750.3%
CareAssist Bed2,106490%
Ac-Powered Adjustable Hospital Bed Including Rails2,16701.3%
Century Bed1,38600.4%
Secure 3 Med/Surg Bedobs 01/131,34880.1%
4 Motor Advance Bed1,33900.4%
Centrella Bed1,3347980.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about In Touch Zx reports

How many FDA reports name In Touch Zx?

460 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (89.3%), other (8.3%) and death (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device displays incorrect message (27.4%), sticking (12.4%), break (10.9%), device operates differently than expected (8.5%) and material frayed (7.4%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that In Touch Zx was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.