Devices › Microfilter, blood transfusion
Device brand name · Imuflex wb-rp blood bag system with lr filter
Imuflex Blood Bag System: medical device reports filed with FDA
849 reports name it, 2014–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Terumo. Product code CAK.
- 849
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 69 a year
- 77
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 44 in the 12 months before
- 99.9%
- classified as malfunction
- 84.9% across the product code
- 0%
- classified as death, as reported
- 0 reports · not verified by FDA
FDA's MAUDE database holds 849 reports that name the brand "Imuflex Blood Bag System" (imuflex wb-rp blood bag system with lr filter), received between April 2014 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Terumo. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.
77 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 75% from 44 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (99.9%) and injury (0.1%); across all microfilter, blood transfusion reports (product code CAK) death is recorded in 0.4% and malfunction in 84.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are filtration problem (27.2%), defective component (19.6%) and high test results (16%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, hemolysis and exposure to body fluids. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 1,660 reports carrying product code CAK. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Filtration problem | 231 | 27.2% | 14% |
| Defective component | 166 | 19.6% | 10.1% |
| High test results | 136 | 16% | 8.4% |
| Restricted flow rate | 106 | 12.5% | 6.9% |
| Insufficient device problem information | 94 | 11.1% | 6.3% |
| High readingsreadings were too high | 75 | 8.8% | 4.6% |
| Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly | 69 | 8.1% | 9.1% |
| Contamination of device ingredient or reagent | 50 | 5.9% | 3.3% |
| Device contamination with body fluid | 19 | 2.2% | 1.1% |
| Incorrect or inadequate test results | 17 | 2% | 1% |
| Inadequate filtration process | 12 | 1.4% | 0.8% |
| Incorrect, inadequate or imprecise result or readings | 12 | 1.4% | 0.7% |
| Material discolored | 12 | 1.4% | 1.4% |
| Material integrity problema problem with the device material | 12 | 1.4% | 0.7% |
| Free or unrestricted flow | 9 | 1.1% | 0.5% |
| Therapeutic or diagnostic output failure | 9 | 1.1% | 1.3% |
| Device ingredient or reagent problem | 7 | 0.8% | 0.4% |
| Contamination | 6 | 0.7% | 0.4% |
| Coagulation in device or device ingredient | 5 | 0.6% | 18.3% |
| Product quality problem | 5 | 0.6% | 0.6% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| No patient involvement | 449 | 52.9% |
| Hemolysis | 25 | 2.9% |
| Exposure to body fluids | 1 | 0.1% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 1 | 0.1% |
| Reactiona reaction, type not specified | 1 | 0.1% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | Imuflex Blood Bag System | Product code CAK | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 849 | 1,660 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 51.1% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 0 | 4 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 0.1% | 6.7% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 99.9% | 84.9% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 100% | 93.9% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code CAK
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teruflex Blood Bag System | 368 | 0 | 0% |
| Spectra Optia | 2,037 | 70 | 4.9% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about Imuflex Blood Bag System reports
How many FDA reports name Imuflex Blood Bag System?
849 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 77 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
malfunction (99.9%) and injury (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
filtration problem (27.2%), defective component (19.6%), high test results (16%), restricted flow rate (12.5%) and insufficient device problem information (11.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that Imuflex Blood Bag System was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.