Reported Reactions

Devices › System, peritoneal, automatic delivery

Device brand name · Homechoice cassette

Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong: medical device reports filed with FDA

3,262 reports name it, 1999–2008. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Baxter Healthcare. Product code FKX.

3,262
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 119 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
92.9%
classified as malfunction
85.8% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
7 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 3,262 reports that name the brand "Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong" (homechoice cassette), received between March 1999 and November 2008; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Baxter Healthcare. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (92.9%), injury (6%) and other (0.9%); across all system, peritoneal, automatic delivery reports (product code FKX) death is recorded in 2.1% and malfunction in 85.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device displays incorrect message (34.4%), replace (21.5%) and disconnection (18.7%). The patient problems coded most often are therapy/non-surgical treatment, aborted/stopped, treatment with medication(s) and therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2008.

By year received

02635261999: 52619992000: 38420002001: 46320012002: 50120022003: 41020032004: 32720042005: 39120052006: 22920062007: 520072008: 262008

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%7
Injury6%196
Malfunction92.9%3,030
Other0.9%29
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%3,262
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 164,765 reports carrying product code FKX. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device displays incorrect message1,12334.4%28.5%
Replace70221.5%0.6%
Disconnection61018.7%2.4%
Leak/splashthe device leaked50615.5%1.2%
Failure to prime47514.6%0.5%
Alarm, audible2929%0.3%
Fluid/blood leak2547.8%14.9%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method1745.3%7.6%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)1414.3%0.2%
Moisture damage842.6%0.1%
Air leak722.2%5.4%
Tears, rips, holes in device, device material551.7%0.1%
Failure, intermittent531.6%0%
Material separation471.4%0.1%
Repair461.4%0.1%
Method, improper/incorrect441.3%0%
Hole in material331%0.4%
Connection error240.7%0%
Bubble(s)230.7%0%
Contamination220.7%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, aborted/stopped1,45744.7%
Treatment with medication(s)3049.3%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional2387.3%
Peritonitis1945.9%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment/delayed/prolonged1865.7%
Hospitalization required1173.6%
Painpain, site not specified822.5%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain782.4%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)601.8%
Vomitingbeing sick190.6%
Nauseafeeling sick170.5%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection140.4%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term100.3%
Air embolism80.2%
Blood loss70.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureHomechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-ProngProduct code FKXAll MAUDE reports
Reports3,262164,76526,136,888
Share of that pool—2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports2219
Classified as injury6%11.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction92.9%85.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FKX

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
HomeChoice Automated PD Set with Cassette27,4171490.5%
Homechoice25,67502.4%
Homechoice Pro22,61403.6%
Liberty Select Cycler Assy Non-Valuated15,7841,1743.6%
Liberty Cycler Set Single Conn /Ext Dl11,7299520.5%
Liberty Cycler3,74209%
Ni32,9391,5871.8%
Liberty Cycler Set Dual Patient Connect3,0831500.8%
Automated Pd Set W/Cassette4 Prong2,09000.3%
Amia Automated Pd Cycler Set1,67100%
Integrated Apd Set W/Cassette3-Prong1,64100.4%
Homechoice Cycler-Refurbished1,61301.2%
Fmc Cassette1,093301%
Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4 Prong90600.1%
Ul Liberty Cycler Assembly Non-Valuated72615.8%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong reports

How many FDA reports name Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong?

3,262 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (92.9%), injury (6%) and other (0.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device displays incorrect message (34.4%), replace (21.5%), disconnection (18.7%), leak/splash (15.5%) and failure to prime (14.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Homechoice Automated Pd Set W/Cassette 4-Prong was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.