Reported Reactions

Devices › Ventricular (assist) bypass

Device brand name · Ventricular assist bypass

Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0: medical device reports filed with FDA

248 reports name it, 2017–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Heartware. Product code DSQ.

248
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 27 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
94.8%
classified as malfunction
37% across the product code
1.2%
classified as death, as reported
3 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 248 reports that name the brand "Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0" (ventricular assist bypass), received between May 2017 and August 2019; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Heartware. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (94.8%), injury (4%) and death (1.2%); across all ventricular (assist) bypass reports (product code DSQ) death is recorded in 14.6% and malfunction in 37%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are power problem (44.8%), connection problem (19%) and material twisted/bent (11.7%). The patient problems coded most often are loss of consciousness, death and dizziness. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0 was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in August 2019.

By year received

0761512017: 1720172018: 15120182019: 802019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death1.2%3
Injury4%10
Malfunction94.8%235
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%248
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 158,083 reports carrying product code DSQ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Power problem11144.8%4.5%
Connection problema connection problem4719%2.5%
Material twisted/bent2911.7%1%
Device displays incorrect message2811.3%0.6%
Disconnection208.1%2%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used145.6%0.1%
Electrical /electronic property probleman electrical or electronic problem135.2%1.9%
Battery problema problem with the battery114.4%6.5%
Bent72.8%0.1%
Device alarm system62.4%0.4%
Incomplete or inadequate connection62.4%0%
No audible alarm62.4%0.4%
Pumping stopped62.4%3.2%
Complete loss of power41.6%1.7%
Protective measures problem31.2%0.1%
Data problem20.8%0.2%
Date/time-related software problem20.8%0.1%
Loose or intermittent connection20.8%0.9%
Audible prompt/feedback problem10.4%0%
Breakthe device broke10.4%2.6%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Loss of consciousnesspassing out41.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term31.2%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness31.2%
No patient involvement31.2%
Cardiopulmonary arrest20.8%
Confusion/ disorientation20.8%
Falla fall20.8%
Syncopefainting20.8%
Anxietyanxiety10.4%
Arrhythmia10.4%
Coma10.4%
Discomfortdiscomfort10.4%
Memory loss/impairment10.4%
Overdosea dose above the recommended amount10.4%
Painpain, site not specified10.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureHeartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0Product code DSQAll MAUDE reports
Reports248158,08326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports121469
Classified as injury4%48.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction94.8%37%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DSQ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
HeartWare Ventricular Assist System - Pump36,4501,30413.4%
Heartware Ventricular Assist System14,55006.9%
HeartMate 3 LVAS Implant Kit13,50062638%
Thoratec HeartMate 3 LVAS Implant Kit8,1303,00829.7%
HeartMate 3 Left Ventricular Assist System5,85812218.6%
HeartWare Ventricular Assist System - Controller 2.05,8311320.5%
HeartWare Ventricular Assist System - Battery5,010470%
Thoratec HeartMate 3 System Controller3,5911,3870%
HeartMate 3 System Controller3,4732470.3%
HeartWare Ventricular Assist System - Driveline3,0031591.5%
HeartWare Ventricular Assist System - Pump/Driveline2,16014716.6%
Heartmate Mobile Power Unit Na2,09640.1%
Heartware Ventricular Assist System-Pump1,424019.9%
Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Pump1,306035.4%
Heartmate Mobile Power Unit N/A1,2345190%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0 reports

How many FDA reports name Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0?

248 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (94.8%), injury (4%) and death (1.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

power problem (44.8%), connection problem (19%), material twisted/bent (11.7%), device displays incorrect message (11.3%) and disconnection (8.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Heartware Ventricular Assist System- Controller 2 0 was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.