Reported Reactions

Devices › Barrier, absorbable, adhesion

Device brand name · Absorbable adhesion barrier

Gynecare Intergel: medical device reports filed with FDA

181 reports name it, 2002–2006. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Lifecore Biomedical. Product code MCN.

181
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 7 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
2.2%
classified as malfunction
4% across the product code
3.3%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

181 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Gynecare Intergel" (absorbable adhesion barrier); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Lifecore Biomedical; received from February 2002 to November 2006. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (79.6%), other (14.9%) and death (3.3%); across all barrier, absorbable, adhesion reports (product code MCN) death is recorded in 1.9% and malfunction in 4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are reaction (18.8%), device, removal of (non-implant) (4.4%) and fluid/blood leak (2.2%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional and swelling. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Gynecare Intergel was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2006.

By year received

024482002: 4820022003: 4620032004: 4820042005: 3620052006: 32006

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.3%6
Injury79.6%144
Malfunction2.2%4
Other14.9%27
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report95%172
Voluntary report3.3%6
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given1.7%3

Grey bar: all 1,562 reports carrying product code MCN. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Reactiona reaction, type not specified3418.8%5.7%
Device, removal of (non-implant)84.4%0.7%
Fluid/blood leak42.2%0.4%
Leak/splashthe device leaked42.2%0.7%
Migration or expulsion of device31.7%2%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)31.7%4.7%
Explanted21.1%1.1%
Device remains implanted10.6%5.1%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert10.6%0%
Foreign material10.6%0.1%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked10.6%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified9351.4%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional5630.9%
Swellingswelling5429.8%
Hospitalization required5228.7%
Surgical procedure5128.2%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain5027.6%
Injurya physical injury4424.3%
Fever4122.7%
Treatment with medication(s)3921.5%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)3418.8%
Peritonitis2714.9%
Adhesion(s)179.4%
Inflammationinflammation179.4%
Obstruction/occlusion168.8%
Scarring147.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureGynecare IntergelProduct code MCNAll MAUDE reports
Reports1811,56226,136,888
Share of that pool—11.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports33199
Classified as injury79.6%80.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction2.2%4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer95%95.5%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MCN

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Seprafilm247182.4%
Seprafilm Sodium Hyaluronate Carboxymethylcellulose Membrane21300.9%
Interceed Tc7 Absorbable Adhesion Barrier18900%
SepraMesh IP1,891430.8%
MED-EL Combi 40+ Cochlear Implant System6,14900%
Gynecare TVT67930%
Nucleus CI512 Cochlear Implant with Contour Advance Electrode2,6052320%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Gynecare Intergel reports

How many FDA reports name Gynecare Intergel?

181 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (79.6%), other (14.9%) and death (3.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

reaction (18.8%), device, removal of (non-implant) (4.4%), fluid/blood leak (2.2%), leak/splash (2.2%) and migration or expulsion of device (1.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (95%) and voluntary reports (3.3%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Gynecare Intergel was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.