Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, breast, noninflatable, internal, silicone gel-filled

Device brand name · Breast implant

Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis: medical device reports filed with FDA

1,089 reports name it, 1994–2013. Manufacturer given most often on reports: American Heyer-Schulte. Product code FTR.

1,089
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 34 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0.1%
classified as malfunction
1.6% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

1,089 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis" (breast implant); the manufacturer given most often on reports is American Heyer-Schulte; received from March 1994 to January 2013. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (99.5%), other (0.2%) and death (0.1%); across all prosthesis, breast, noninflatable, internal, silicone gel-filled reports (product code FTR) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 1.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are explanted (12.8%), rupture, cause unknown (1.1%) and gel leak (0.6%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, surgical procedure and fatigue. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in January 2013.

By year received

02675331994: 319941995: 1419951996: 6119961997: 53319971998: 47419982013: 42013

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%1
Injury99.5%1,084
Malfunction0.1%1
Other0.2%2
Not given0.1%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report97.9%1,066
Voluntary report1.7%18
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.5%5

Grey bar: all 231,877 reports carrying product code FTR. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Explanted13912.8%1.7%
Rupture, cause unknown121.1%1.3%
Gel leak60.6%1.9%
Leak/splashthe device leaked20.2%0.3%
Material rupture20.2%42.7%
Electrical wires, defective10.1%0%
Implant, removal of10.1%0.4%
Material disintegration10.1%0%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.1%0.1%
Replace10.1%0.4%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury23121.2%
Surgical procedure14413.2%
Fatiguetiredness272.5%
Painpain, site not specified131.2%
Arthralgiajoint pain121.1%
Inflammationinflammation121.1%
Capsular contracturescar tissue tightening around an implant90.8%
Headachehead pain90.8%
Myalgiamuscle pain80.7%
Deformity/ disfigurement70.6%
Hair loss70.6%
Rupturethe device burst70.6%
Arthritis60.6%
Connective tissue disease60.6%
Rashskin rash60.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureGel-Filled Mammary ProsthesisProduct code FTRAll MAUDE reports
Reports1,089231,87726,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports119
Classified as injury99.5%97.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.1%1.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer97.9%95%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTR

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
MENTOR MemoryGel Breast Implant57,7717,7080%
Inspira Smooth Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant35,6346,7820%
Inspira Textured Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant24,7952,7660%
Style 410 Cohesive Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant15,2871,8410.1%
Style 15 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant9,5671,5290.1%
Style 20 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant6,3689810.1%
Sientra Silicone Gel Breast Implants6,0141,6820%
Style 115 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant5,7105460%
Unknown Gel Implants5,3377030%
UNK Gel Breast Implant5,3027820.4%
MENTOR MemoryGel Xtra Breast Implant4,9101,3870%
Inspira Smooth Cohesive Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant4,6361,0760%
Sientra Opus Silicone Gel Breast Implant4,61300%
Style 110 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant3,3642790%
Style 10 Silicone Gel Filled Breast Implant3,3534790.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis reports

How many FDA reports name Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis?

1,089 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (99.5%), other (0.2%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

explanted (12.8%), rupture, cause unknown (1.1%), gel leak (0.6%), leak/splash (0.2%) and material rupture (0.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (97.9%) and voluntary reports (1.7%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Gel-Filled Mammary Prosthesis was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.