Reported Reactions

Devices › Catheter, angioplasty, peripheral, transluminal

Device brand name · Peripheral dilatation catheter

Fox Sv Pta Catheter: medical device reports filed with FDA

299 reports name it, 2007–2017. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Av-Temecula-Ct. Product code LIT.

299
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
94.6%
classified as malfunction
83.5% across the product code
0.3%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 299 reports that name the brand "Fox Sv Pta Catheter" (peripheral dilatation catheter), received between May 2007 and April 2017; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Av-Temecula-Ct. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (94.6%), injury (4.7%) and death (0.3%); across all catheter, angioplasty, peripheral, transluminal reports (product code LIT) death is recorded in 0.5% and malfunction in 83.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material rupture (38.1%), balloon rupture (20.1%) and difficult to remove (17.1%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional and occlusion. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Fox Sv Pta Catheter was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in April 2017.

By year received

022442007: 720072008: 232009: 4120092010: 342011: 3120112012: 392013: 3820132014: 442015: 2920152016: 92017: 42017

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.3%1
Injury4.7%14
Malfunction94.6%283
Other0%0
Not given0.3%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%299
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 35,907 reports carrying product code LIT. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material rupture11438.1%44.2%
Balloon rupture6020.1%7.4%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove5117.1%9.1%
Difficult to position3311%0.4%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method248%1.3%
Leak/splashthe device leaked206.7%6.1%
Detachment of device component165.4%2.7%
Inflation problem134.3%4.1%
Folded72.3%0.2%
Physical resistance72.3%0.8%
Source, detachment from72.3%0.9%
Torn material62%0.4%
Deflation problem41.3%4.5%
Device misassembled during manufacturing /shipping20.7%0%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert20.7%0.6%
Unsealed device packaging20.7%0.1%
Component missing10.3%0.2%
Crackthe device cracked10.3%0.3%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label10.3%0.2%
Failure to advance10.3%1.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement175.7%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional72.3%
Occlusion31%
Perforation31%
Foreign body, removal of20.7%
Hospitalization required20.7%
Painpain, site not specified20.7%
Surgical procedure20.7%
Vessel or plaque, device embedded in20.7%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.3%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient10.3%
Ischemia10.3%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body10.3%
Numbnessnumbness10.3%
Pseudoaneurysm10.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureFox Sv Pta CatheterProduct code LITAll MAUDE reports
Reports29935,90726,136,888
Share of that pool—0.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports359
Classified as injury4.7%15.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction94.6%83.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.6%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LIT

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Coyote? ES5,4284380%
2cm Peripheral Cutting Balloon3,2023140%
Armada 35 PTA Catheter1,86490.2%
Sterling4,9633000.1%
Coyote?1,7671220.1%
Mustang5,9694910.3%
Armada 18 Pta Catheter65100%
Armada6803050.1%
Gladiator? Elite545590%
Armada 14 Pta Catheter74600%
Ultra-Thin Balloon Dilatation Catheter48800.4%
Fox Plus Pta Catheter38500%
Ultraverse RX369680%
Evercross 035427302.6%
Sterling Es Pta Balloon Dilatation Catheter33300%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Fox Sv Pta Catheter reports

How many FDA reports name Fox Sv Pta Catheter?

299 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (94.6%), injury (4.7%) and death (0.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material rupture (38.1%), balloon rupture (20.1%), difficult to remove (17.1%), difficult to position (11%) and improper or incorrect procedure or method (8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Fox Sv Pta Catheter was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.