Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented

Device brand name · Modular bipolar shell

Foundation Hip: medical device reports filed with FDA

323 reports name it, 2010–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Encore Medical L P. Product code LPH.

323
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 20 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
2.2%
classified as malfunction
7.5% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

323 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Foundation Hip" (modular bipolar shell); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Encore Medical L P; received from May 2010 to November 2022. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (54.2%), other (41.5%) and malfunction (2.2%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained, metal/polymer, porous uncemented reports (product code LPH) death is recorded in 0.2% and malfunction in 7.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (21.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (20.7%) and device slipped (6.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, fall and joint dislocation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

024472010: 1820102011: 262012: 4120122013: 472014: 4020142015: 362016: 1220162017: 252018: 3520182019: 172020: 1020202021: 72022: 92022

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury54.2%175
Malfunction2.2%7
Other41.5%134
Not given2.2%7

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%323
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 90,251 reports carrying product code LPH. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information6821.1%19.2%
Device dislodged or dislocated6720.7%17%
Device slipped226.8%0.9%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly185.6%0.6%
Fracturea broken bone123.7%4.4%
Naturally worn123.7%6.1%
Unstable103.1%1.1%
Breakthe device broke82.5%1.6%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material72.2%0.4%
Loose or intermittent connection61.9%1.1%
Metal shedding debris61.9%1.3%
Detachment of device component51.5%0.2%
Inadequacy of device shape and/or size41.2%0.3%
Malposition of device30.9%2.3%
Material separation30.9%0.2%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient30.9%0.2%
Positioning problem30.9%0.4%
Corrodedthe device corroded20.6%2.9%
Human-device interface problem20.6%0%
Compatibility problem10.3%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified4915.2%
Falla fall154.6%
Joint dislocationa dislocated joint154.6%
Failure of implant144.3%
Osteolysis113.4%
Bone fracture(s)103.1%
Cyst(s)51.5%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified51.5%
Test result51.5%
Toxicity51.5%
Arthralgiajoint pain41.2%
Arthritis30.9%
Chemical exposure30.9%
Complaint, ill-defined20.6%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue20.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureFoundation HipProduct code LPHAll MAUDE reports
Reports32390,25126,136,888
Share of that pool—0.4%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports029
Classified as injury54.2%91.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction2.2%7.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code LPH

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Apex Hole Elim Positive Stop1,082200.4%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx25mm1,299320%
Unknown Hip Femoral Stem4,140790.8%
Unknown Hip Femoral Head5,0801760.7%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx20mm1,075190.3%
Pinn Can Bone Screw 6 5mmx30mm981220.3%
Altrx Neut 36idx52od638230%
UNK Hip Femoral Head Ceramic7201260.1%
Unknown Hip2,30651.9%
Trident 0 X3 Insert 36mm Id58500.2%
Altrx Neut 36idx54od553230%
Altrx Neut 32idx50od552210%
Altrx +4 10d 36idx52od544170.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Foundation Hip reports

How many FDA reports name Foundation Hip?

323 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (54.2%), other (41.5%) and malfunction (2.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (21.1%), device dislodged or dislocated (20.7%), device slipped (6.8%), device operates differently than expected (5.6%) and fracture (3.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Foundation Hip was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.