Reported Reactions

Devices › Tubes, gastrointestinal (and accessories)

Device brand name · Fecal management system

Flexi-Seal Signal Fms: medical device reports filed with FDA

170 reports name it, 2010–2016. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Convatec. Product code KNT.

170
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 11 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
48.8%
classified as malfunction
47% across the product code
5.9%
classified as death, as reported
10 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 170 reports that name the brand "Flexi-Seal Signal Fms" (fecal management system), received between June 2010 and December 2016; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Convatec. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (48.8%), injury (45.3%) and death (5.9%); across all tubes, gastrointestinal (and accessories) reports (product code KNT) death is recorded in 2.4% and malfunction in 47%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are insufficient device problem information (12.9%), improper or incorrect procedure or method (9.4%) and leak/splash (8.2%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, tissue damage and death. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Flexi-Seal Signal Fms was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in December 2016.

By year received

029572010: 920102011: 1520112012: 2120122013: 2020132014: 1820142015: 5720152016: 302016

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death5.9%10
Injury45.3%77
Malfunction48.8%83
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report98.2%167
Voluntary report0.6%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given1.2%2

Grey bar: all 26,205 reports carrying product code KNT. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Insufficient device problem information2212.9%3.7%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method169.4%0.7%
Leak/splashthe device leaked148.2%4.7%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly137.6%0.9%
Inflation problem105.9%1.3%
Deflation problem95.3%2%
Fluid/blood leak74.1%4.5%
Overfill63.5%0.2%
Activation, positioning or separation problem42.4%0%
Detachment of device component42.4%4.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked42.4%2.3%
Breakthe device broke31.8%7.5%
Material rupture31.8%2%
Decoupling21.2%0%
Hole in material21.2%0.5%
Inability to irrigate21.2%0.1%
Inadequate instructions for healthcare professional21.2%0%
Migration or expulsion of device21.2%1.9%
Off-label use21.2%0.1%
Physical resistance21.2%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding3017.6%
Tissue damage1911.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term148.2%
Pressure sore/ulcer127.1%
Ulcer116.5%
Blood loss63.5%
No patient involvement63.5%
Erosion42.4%
Laceration(s)42.4%
Thrombus42.4%
Ulceration42.4%
Diarrhea31.8%
Painpain, site not specified31.8%
Bowel perforation21.2%
Excessive tear production21.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureFlexi-Seal Signal FmsProduct code KNTAll MAUDE reports
Reports17026,20526,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports59249
Classified as injury45.3%49%36.2%
Classified as malfunction48.8%47%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer98.2%91%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KNT

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Duodopa Duopa5,9254842%
Abbvie Peg1,63301.7%
Bard DigniShield Stool Management System750940.7%
Kangaroo4,3281170.2%
EndoVive Safety PEG Kit650230.8%
EndoVive Standard PEG Kit534152.1%
Corflo Cubby Low Profile Gastrostomy Device44000%
Tube Gastrointestinal And Access44801.1%
Endovive Jejunal Feeding Tube42200.2%
Endovive Initial Placement Peg Kit Direct Pej Kit And Peg Safety Kit33300.9%
Endovive Securi-T26400.4%
Abbvie J26306.8%
Endovive Two-Port Ttp Jejunal Feeding Tube Cap26201.5%
CORTRAK 2 Enteral Access System1903714.7%
Flexi-Seal Fms19501.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Flexi-Seal Signal Fms reports

How many FDA reports name Flexi-Seal Signal Fms?

170 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (48.8%), injury (45.3%) and death (5.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

insufficient device problem information (12.9%), improper or incorrect procedure or method (9.4%), leak/splash (8.2%), device operates differently than expected (7.6%) and inflation problem (5.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (98.2%) and voluntary reports (0.6%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Flexi-Seal Signal Fms was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.