Reported Reactions

Devices › Laparoscope, general & plastic surgery

Device brand name · Laparoscope general and plastic surgery

Endopath Xcel: medical device reports filed with FDA

786 reports name it, 2006–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Product code GCJ.

786
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 39 a year
38
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
95.2%
classified as malfunction
90.1% across the product code
0.5%
classified as death, as reported
4 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 786 reports that name the brand "Endopath Xcel" (laparoscope general and plastic surgery), received between February 2006 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ethicon Endo-Surgery. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

38 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, with none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (95.2%), injury (3.7%) and death (0.5%); across all laparoscope, general & plastic surgery reports (product code GCJ) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 90.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are gas/air leak (31.6%), leak/splash (16.2%) and air leak (13.9%). The patient problems coded most often are foreign body, removal of, foreign body in patient and surgical procedure. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0510Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 8Apr 2026: 10May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 6Aug 2026: 7

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

02545082006: 1020062007: 62008: 320082009: 252010: 50820102011: 272012: 1520122013: 452014: 4320142015: 72016: 3520162017: 182019: 320192020: 32026: 382026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.5%4
Injury3.7%29
Malfunction95.2%748
Other0.1%1
Not given0.5%4

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report90.7%713
Voluntary report0.5%4
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given8.8%69

Grey bar: all 84,093 reports carrying product code GCJ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Gas/air leak24831.6%1.7%
Leak/splashthe device leaked12716.2%3.9%
Air leak10913.9%2.2%
Breakthe device broke617.8%13.5%
Detachment of device component476%5.3%
Component falling324.1%1.6%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly303.8%1%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material182.3%0.6%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem162%0.9%
Crackthe device cracked121.5%1.5%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert91.1%1.2%
Product quality problem91.1%0.2%
Delivered as unsterile product81%0.2%
Bent70.9%0.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated60.8%0.4%
Inflation problem60.8%4.3%
Insufficient device problem information60.8%0.6%
Nonstandard device60.8%0.1%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging60.8%0.2%
Decrease in pressure50.6%0.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Foreign body, removal of91.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient70.9%
Surgical procedure70.9%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)60.8%
Surgery, prolonged60.8%
Laparotomy50.6%
Painpain, site not specified50.6%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term40.5%
No patient involvement40.5%
Blood loss30.4%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding30.4%
Bleeding20.3%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque20.3%
Dural tear20.3%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body20.3%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEndopath XcelProduct code GCJAll MAUDE reports
Reports78684,09326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports539
Classified as injury3.7%8.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction95.2%90.1%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer90.7%94.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code GCJ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Endoeye Flex Deflectable Videoscope8,0622,2450%
Auto Suture3,1002340.1%
Endopath Dilating Tip Trocar2,47500.4%
VersaOne1,8902510.2%
Endoeye Flex 3d Deflectable Videoscope1,8257110%
Spacemaker1,3791460%
Versaport1,198640.1%
Endopath Disposable Surgical Trocar1,15300.4%
Pdb1,2531800%
Endopath Xcel Bladeless Trocar986280.3%
Auto Suture Multifire Endo Gia 30-2 593300%
Endopath Xcel Trocar84400.9%
Lapro-Clip856540.2%
Auto Suture Endo Clip 5mm79500%
Protack801440.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Endopath Xcel reports

How many FDA reports name Endopath Xcel?

786 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 38 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (95.2%), injury (3.7%) and death (0.5%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

gas/air leak (31.6%), leak/splash (16.2%), air leak (13.9%), break (7.8%) and detachment of device component (6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (90.7%) and voluntary reports (0.5%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Endopath Xcel was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.