Reported Reactions

Devices › Coronary drug-eluting stent

Device brand name · Stent coronary drug-eluting

Endeavor Sprint Rx: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,449 reports name it, 2008–2022. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Ireland. Product code NIQ.

2,449
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 134 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
9.8%
classified as malfunction
42.8% across the product code
28.5%
classified as death, as reported
699 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 2,449 reports that name the brand "Endeavor Sprint Rx" (stent coronary drug-eluting), received between April 2008 and December 2022; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Ireland. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (61.6%), death (28.5%) and malfunction (9.8%); across all coronary drug-eluting stent reports (product code NIQ) death is recorded in 8.7% and malfunction in 42.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are material deformation (7.6%), device dislodged or dislocated (2.2%) and insufficient device problem information (1.3%). The patient problems coded most often are myocardial infarction, death and stroke/cva. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

023Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 2Dec 2021: 12022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 0Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 0

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

03777542008: 2020082010: 42011: 25820112012: 7542013: 38620132014: 4962015: 10920152016: 862017: 17520172018: 762019: 3520192020: 202021: 2620212022: 4

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death28.5%699
Injury61.6%1,509
Malfunction9.8%241
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%2,449
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 128,932 reports carrying product code NIQ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Material deformation1857.6%10.7%
Device dislodged or dislocated542.2%8.5%
Insufficient device problem information321.3%0.5%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly140.6%0.1%
Device expiration issue120.5%0.2%
Device slipped60.2%0.1%
Fracturea broken bone50.2%1.6%
Activation, positioning or separation problem40.2%0.9%
Burst container or vessel40.2%0.4%
Difficult to advance40.2%1.3%
Failure to advance40.2%15.8%
Migration or expulsion of device40.2%0.6%
Occlusion within devicethe device blocked40.2%11.5%
Breakthe device broke30.1%3.1%
Device remains implanted30.1%9.5%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove30.1%6%
Deflation problem20.1%0.9%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off20.1%0.5%
Difficult to position20.1%0.8%
Dissection20.1%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Myocardial infarctionheart attack83133.9%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term57523.5%
Stroke/cva30512.5%
Intimal dissection2319.4%
Blood loss2219%
Thrombus1345.5%
Occlusion803.3%
Heart failure241%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding220.9%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped210.9%
Pulmonary edema190.8%
Cardiogenic shockshock from the heart failing to pump180.7%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified180.7%
Stenosis180.7%
Pneumonialung infection160.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureEndeavor Sprint RxProduct code NIQAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,449128,93226,136,888
Share of that pool—1.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports285879
Classified as injury61.6%48.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction9.8%42.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NIQ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Cypher Sirolimus-Eluting Coronary Stent15,051010.3%
Taxus Express2 Paclitaxel-Eluting Coronary Stent System10,256012.5%
Synergy14,271843.5%
Xience V Everolimus Eluting Coronary Stent System6,990911.6%
Promus PREMIER6,1591116.3%
Resolute Onyx Rx5,819888.7%
Promus Element Plus5,238010.2%
Promus Element4,77005.5%
Resolute Integrity Rx4,720707.9%
Taxus Liberte Paclitaxel-Eluting Coronary Stent System4,54305.2%
Xience Xpedition Everolimus Eluting Coronary Stent System4,19904%
Synergy Xd2,8133794%
Promus Everolimus Eluting Coronary Stent System2,734011.3%
Xience Alpine Everolimus Eluting Coronary Stent System2,68103.2%
XIENCE PRIME Everolimus Eluting Coronary Stent System2,402136.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Endeavor Sprint Rx reports

How many FDA reports name Endeavor Sprint Rx?

2,449 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (61.6%), death (28.5%) and malfunction (9.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

material deformation (7.6%), device dislodged or dislocated (2.2%), insufficient device problem information (1.3%), device operates differently than expected (0.6%) and device expiration issue (0.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Endeavor Sprint Rx was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.