Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component)

Device brand name · Durom acetabular component and metasul

Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N: medical device reports filed with FDA

288 reports name it, 2008–2016. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer. Product code KWA.

288
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 16 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
1%
classified as malfunction
3.4% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

288 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N" (durom acetabular component and metasul); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer; received from March 2008 to April 2016. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (80.2%), other (17.7%) and malfunction (1%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component) reports (product code KWA) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 3.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are nonstandard device (27.4%), insufficient device problem information (20.1%) and loose (19.8%). The patient problems coded most often are pain, surgical procedure, repeated and toxicity. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in April 2016.

By year received

042832008: 920082009: 2620092010: 3220102011: 8320112012: 5720122013: 3520132014: 2220142015: 1520152016: 92016

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury80.2%231
Malfunction1%3
Other17.7%51
Not given1%3

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%288
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 138,213 reports carrying product code KWA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Nonstandard device7927.4%2.1%
Insufficient device problem information5820.1%52%
Loose5719.8%0.7%
Device slipped4314.9%1.1%
Implant, removal of258.7%1.2%
Metal shedding debris93.1%7.6%
Loose or intermittent connection82.8%1.2%
Migration or expulsion of device82.8%1%
Failure to osseointegrate72.4%0.1%
Corrodedthe device corroded51.7%2%
Device dislodged or dislocated41.4%5.2%
Device remains implanted31%0.1%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.7%1%
Naturally worn20.7%6.7%
Osseointegration problem20.7%0.8%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient20.7%0.4%
Explanted10.3%0.4%
Failure to align10.3%0%
Fracturea broken bone10.3%1.3%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth10.3%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Painpain, site not specified16557.3%
Surgical procedure, repeated6121.2%
Toxicity165.6%
Complaint, ill-defined113.8%
Test result51.7%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available41.4%
Failure of implant31%
Fluid discharge31%
Osteolysis31%
Ambulation or postural difficulties20.7%
Injurya physical injury20.7%
Limited mobility of the implanted joint20.7%
Pulmonary valve stenosis20.7%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified20.7%
Swellingswelling20.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDurom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 NProduct code KWAAll MAUDE reports
Reports288138,21326,136,888
Share of that pool—0.2%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports039
Classified as injury80.2%94.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction1%3.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KWA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx52od3,720130.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx54od2,874110.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 522,42820.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 462,50020.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 542,35000.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 472,42300.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 562,20600.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 492,27800.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 502,05600.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 452,11900.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx50od2,06690%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Durom Acetabular Component2,07100.1%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Unknown Depuy Asr Acetabular Cup1,93300.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N reports

How many FDA reports name Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N?

288 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (80.2%), other (17.7%) and malfunction (1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

nonstandard device (27.4%), insufficient device problem information (20.1%), loose (19.8%), device slipped (14.9%) and implant, removal of (8.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Durom Us Acetabular Component 54/48 N was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.