Reported Reactions

Devices › Prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component)

Device brand name · Durom hip generic

Durom Acetabular Component: medical device reports filed with FDA

2,071 reports name it, 2008–2021. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zimmer. Product code KWA.

2,071
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 112 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
0.1%
classified as malfunction
3.4% across the product code
0.1%
classified as death, as reported
2 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 2,071 reports that name the brand "Durom Acetabular Component" (durom hip generic), received between February 2008 and August 2021; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zimmer. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are other (56.6%), injury (37.6%) and death (0.1%); across all prosthesis, hip, semi-constrained (metal uncemented acetabular component) reports (product code KWA) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 3.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are nonstandard device (52.5%), insufficient device problem information (22.8%) and loose (5.4%). The patient problems coded most often are complaint, ill-defined, pain and surgical procedure, repeated. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Durom Acetabular Component was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in August 2021.

By year received

04719412008: 6720082009: 712010: 1520102011: 1152012: 39620122013: 232014: 94120142015: 1722016: 17120162017: 292018: 2520182019: 142020: 2620202021: 6

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.1%2
Injury37.6%778
Malfunction0.1%2
Other56.6%1,172
Not given5.6%117

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.9%2,069
Voluntary report0%1
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%1

Grey bar: all 138,213 reports carrying product code KWA. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Nonstandard device1,08852.5%2.1%
Insufficient device problem information47222.8%52%
Loose1115.4%0.7%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly562.7%1%
Metal shedding debris432.1%7.6%
Device slipped321.5%1.1%
Explanted271.3%0.4%
Loose or intermittent connection261.3%1.2%
Migration or expulsion of device180.9%1%
Implant, removal of160.8%1.2%
Naturally worn150.7%6.7%
Corrodedthe device corroded130.6%2%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient100.5%0.4%
Material integrity problema problem with the device material80.4%0.3%
Device remains implanted60.3%0.1%
Device dislodged or dislocated50.2%5.2%
Failure to osseointegrate50.2%0.1%
Osseointegration problem50.2%0.8%
Biocompatibility30.1%0.3%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth30.1%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Complaint, ill-defined81039.1%
Painpain, site not specified42520.5%
Surgical procedure, repeated1567.5%
Toxicity733.5%
Test result251.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified221.1%
Osteolysis190.9%
Injurya physical injury180.9%
Fluid discharge160.8%
Swellingswelling110.5%
Inflammationinflammation90.4%
Discomfortdiscomfort80.4%
Foreign body reaction60.3%
Metal related pathology60.3%
Cyst(s)50.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDurom Acetabular ComponentProduct code KWAAll MAUDE reports
Reports2,071138,21326,136,888
Share of that pool—1.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports139
Classified as injury37.6%94.3%36.2%
Classified as malfunction0.1%3.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.9%99.2%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KWA

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx52od3,720130.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx54od2,874110.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 522,42820.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 462,50020.1%
Asr Acetabular Cups 542,35000.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 472,42300.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 562,20600.4%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 492,27800.4%
Asr Acetabular Cups 502,05600.1%
Asr Uni Femoral Impl Size 452,11900.1%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut36idx50od2,06690%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Liners4,8142600.2%
Unknown Hip Acetabular Cup3,2151060.4%
Unknown Depuy Asr Acetabular Cup1,93300.2%
Pinnacle Mtl Ins Neut40idx56od1,76660.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Durom Acetabular Component reports

How many FDA reports name Durom Acetabular Component?

2,071 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

other (56.6%), injury (37.6%) and death (0.1%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

nonstandard device (52.5%), insufficient device problem information (22.8%), loose (5.4%), device operates differently than expected (2.7%) and metal shedding debris (2.1%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.9%) and voluntary reports (0%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Durom Acetabular Component was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.